afs: Fix VNOVOL handling in address rotation
authorDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Fri, 11 May 2018 21:55:59 +0000 (22:55 +0100)
committerDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Mon, 14 May 2018 14:15:18 +0000 (15:15 +0100)
If a volume location record lists multiple file servers for a volume, then
it's possible that due to a misconfiguration or a changing configuration
that one of the file servers doesn't know about it yet and will abort
VNOVOL.  Currently, the rotation algorithm will stop with EREMOTEIO.

Fix this by moving on to try the next server if VNOVOL is returned.  Once
all the servers have been tried and the record rechecked, the algorithm
will stop with EREMOTEIO or ENOMEDIUM.

Fixes: d2ddc776a458 ("afs: Overhaul volume and server record caching and fileserver rotation")
Reported-by: Marc Dionne <marc.dionne@auristor.com>
Signed-off-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
fs/afs/rotate.c

index 84584dcced72367e4364668e430fdce893a65f7e..e065bc0768e6a5068ef762e3d3967fc54d50e2b2 100644 (file)
@@ -179,7 +179,7 @@ bool afs_select_fileserver(struct afs_fs_cursor *fc)
                         */
                        if (fc->flags & AFS_FS_CURSOR_VNOVOL) {
                                fc->ac.error = -EREMOTEIO;
-                               goto failed;
+                               goto next_server;
                        }
 
                        write_lock(&vnode->volume->servers_lock);
@@ -201,7 +201,7 @@ bool afs_select_fileserver(struct afs_fs_cursor *fc)
                         */
                        if (vnode->volume->servers == fc->server_list) {
                                fc->ac.error = -EREMOTEIO;
-                               goto failed;
+                               goto next_server;
                        }
 
                        /* Try again */