third_party/pep8
4 years agoUpdate docs for configuration master
Ian Lee [Mon, 29 Dec 2014 21:10:14 +0000 (13:10 -0800)]
Update docs for configuration

4 years agoMerge branch 'issue-315'
Ian Lee [Mon, 29 Dec 2014 19:28:38 +0000 (11:28 -0800)]
Merge branch 'issue-315'

4 years agoUpdate documentation to match config file location change in last commit.
Simon Kennedy [Sat, 9 Aug 2014 15:53:41 +0000 (16:53 +0100)]
Update documentation to match config file location change in last commit.

4 years agoMerge pull request #361 from jcrocholl/issue-357
Ian Lee [Mon, 29 Dec 2014 18:45:28 +0000 (10:45 -0800)]
Merge pull request #361 from jcrocholl/issue-357

Allow spaces around equals sign of an annotated function definition

4 years agoOnly an annotated function if in the first layer of parens
Ian Lee [Mon, 22 Dec 2014 05:22:15 +0000 (21:22 -0800)]
Only an annotated function if in the first layer of parens

4 years agoUpdate tests for issue #357
Ian Lee [Fri, 19 Dec 2014 07:34:57 +0000 (23:34 -0800)]
Update tests for issue #357

4 years agoAllow spaces around equals sign of an annotated function definition parameter; issue...
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 09:54:20 +0000 (01:54 -0800)]
Allow spaces around equals sign of an annotated function definition parameter; issue #357

4 years agoMerge pull request #360 from jcrocholl/issue-316
Ian Lee [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 06:15:01 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Merge pull request #360 from jcrocholl/issue-316

Add E121 and E126 to the DEFAULT_IGNORE list

4 years agoSpecify the default ignore list in the help options.
Ian Lee [Tue, 23 Dec 2014 05:34:22 +0000 (21:34 -0800)]
Specify the default ignore list in the help options.

4 years agoMerge branch 'issue-304'
Ian Lee [Sun, 21 Dec 2014 03:10:25 +0000 (19:10 -0800)]
Merge branch 'issue-304'

4 years agoDont include html_static_path, suppresses warning when building docs.
Ian Lee [Sun, 21 Dec 2014 03:10:14 +0000 (19:10 -0800)]
Dont include html_static_path, suppresses warning when building docs.

4 years agoAdd more test cases for E402; issue #304
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 03:49:34 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Add more test cases for E402; issue #304

4 years agoUpdate E402 error message emitted
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 03:49:16 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Update E402 error message emitted

4 years agoAllow try/except/else/finally keywords intermixed with imports. #304
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 03:01:29 +0000 (19:01 -0800)]
Allow try/except/else/finally keywords intermixed with imports. #304

* This allows use of conditional imports.
* Also move `__version__` definition to conform with this rule.

4 years agoUpdate documentation to match function.
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 09:20:58 +0000 (01:20 -0800)]
Update documentation to match function.

4 years agoMerge pull request #353 from jcrocholl/issue319
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 08:43:33 +0000 (00:43 -0800)]
Merge pull request #353 from jcrocholl/issue319

Merged. Going to close the alternate PR, #333.

4 years agoDo not skip physical checks if the newline is escaped; issue #319
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 19:51:07 +0000 (20:51 +0100)]
Do not skip physical checks if the newline is escaped; issue #319

4 years agoMerge pull request #354 from jcrocholl/feature292
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 08:32:18 +0000 (00:32 -0800)]
Merge pull request #354 from jcrocholl/feature292

Looks good!

4 years agoAdd entry to changelog.
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 08:29:51 +0000 (00:29 -0800)]
Add entry to changelog.

4 years agoUpdate documentation to reflect changes to default; issues #356 #316
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 08:00:36 +0000 (00:00 -0800)]
Update documentation to reflect changes to default; issues #356 #316

4 years agoUpdate DEFAULT_IGNORE to add E121 & E126 per discussion in issues #256 #316
Ian Lee [Thu, 18 Dec 2014 07:42:03 +0000 (23:42 -0800)]
Update DEFAULT_IGNORE to add E121 & E126 per discussion in issues #256 #316

4 years agoMerge branch fixing issues #330 and #336
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 11:32:41 +0000 (12:32 +0100)]
Merge branch fixing issues #330 and #336

4 years agoMerge pull request #356 from jcrocholl/test-pypy3
Ian Lee [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 01:45:30 +0000 (17:45 -0800)]
Merge pull request #356 from jcrocholl/test-pypy3

Add tests on PyPy 3 for Travis-CI

4 years agoAdd tests on PyPy 3 for Travis-CI
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 01:30:51 +0000 (02:30 +0100)]
Add tests on PyPy 3 for Travis-CI

4 years agoAdd changelog entry for #323
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 00:50:46 +0000 (01:50 +0100)]
Add changelog entry for #323

4 years agoMerge branch 'issue-323'
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 00:49:04 +0000 (01:49 +0100)]
Merge branch 'issue-323'

4 years agoThis appears to fix #323
Ian Cordasco [Sun, 31 Aug 2014 22:07:39 +0000 (17:07 -0500)]
This appears to fix #323

I am very skeptical of this though

4 years agoAdd failing test for #323
Ian Cordasco [Sun, 31 Aug 2014 21:28:10 +0000 (16:28 -0500)]
Add failing test for #323

4 years agoDo not enforce whitespaces around ** operator; issue #292
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 22:23:13 +0000 (00:23 +0200)]
Do not enforce whitespaces around ** operator; issue #292

4 years agoFix false positive E713; issue #330
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 13:51:52 +0000 (14:51 +0100)]
Fix false positive E713; issue #330

4 years agoFix false positive E711/E712; issue #336
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 00:05:48 +0000 (01:05 +0100)]
Fix false positive E711/E712; issue #336

4 years agoUpdate changelog for issue #297
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 17:40:22 +0000 (09:40 -0800)]
Update changelog for issue #297

4 years agoCatch import errors thrown by os.path.expanduser(); issue #297
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 17:36:53 +0000 (09:36 -0800)]
Catch import errors thrown by os.path.expanduser(); issue #297

* This can happen particularly with AppEngine when importing pwd

4 years agoAdd toplevel build dir to git ignore file
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 17:29:37 +0000 (09:29 -0800)]
Add toplevel build dir to git ignore file

4 years agoFix definition of isidentifier in Python 2
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 06:34:10 +0000 (07:34 +0100)]
Fix definition of isidentifier in Python 2

4 years agoFix too long line introducing E501 error
Ian Lee [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 03:17:16 +0000 (19:17 -0800)]
Fix too long line introducing E501 error

4 years agoReplace the IDENTIFIER_REGEX with the isidentifier function
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 00:38:56 +0000 (01:38 +0100)]
Replace the IDENTIFIER_REGEX with the isidentifier function

4 years agoMerge pull request #312 from sigmavirus24/bug/311
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 00:15:15 +0000 (01:15 +0100)]
Merge pull request #312 from sigmavirus24/bug/311

Fix #311. Add regex to check for field assignment

4 years agoTestCase.assertEqual is the recommended spelling
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 21:59:51 +0000 (22:59 +0100)]
TestCase.assertEqual is the recommended spelling

4 years agoReview changelog
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 21:49:11 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
Review changelog

4 years agoRemove noise from testsuite/E12not.py
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 21:48:52 +0000 (22:48 +0100)]
Remove noise from testsuite/E12not.py

4 years agoMerge branch 'issue304'
Ian Lee [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 02:26:00 +0000 (18:26 -0800)]
Merge branch 'issue304'

4 years agoRename check to signify that it applies to module level imports only; issue #304
Ian Lee [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 02:21:11 +0000 (18:21 -0800)]
Rename check to signify that it applies to module level imports only; issue #304

4 years agoAdd error code E402 to docs; issue #304
Ian Lee [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 01:59:25 +0000 (17:59 -0800)]
Add error code E402 to docs; issue #304

4 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'yole/import-on-top-of-file' into issue304
Ian Lee [Mon, 15 Dec 2014 01:21:09 +0000 (17:21 -0800)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'yole/import-on-top-of-file' into issue304

4 years agoAdd changelog for #335
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 06:44:47 +0000 (22:44 -0800)]
Add changelog for #335

4 years agoMerge pull request #340 from bdkearns/master
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 06:42:04 +0000 (22:42 -0800)]
Merge pull request #340 from bdkearns/master

Merged, thanks!

4 years agoMerge pull request #347 from helenst/e711-reverse-comparison
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 03:55:21 +0000 (19:55 -0800)]
Merge pull request #347 from helenst/e711-reverse-comparison

Looks good, thanks!

4 years agoMerge branch 'issue306'
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 03:47:23 +0000 (19:47 -0800)]
Merge branch 'issue306'

4 years agoRemove stdout check that fails under pypy.
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 03:26:05 +0000 (19:26 -0800)]
Remove stdout check that fails under pypy.

This second E901 error actually only shows up in the test framework
and does not happen if you run the code within the Python interpreter.

4 years agoDon't crash if build_tokens_line() returns None; issue #306
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 03:08:06 +0000 (19:08 -0800)]
Don't crash if build_tokens_line() returns None; issue #306

4 years agoEmail notificates when Travis runs
Ian Lee [Sun, 14 Dec 2014 03:16:35 +0000 (19:16 -0800)]
Email notificates when Travis runs

4 years agoDont need to make a sphinx table header explicitly bold
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 22:54:21 +0000 (14:54 -0800)]
Dont need to make a sphinx table header explicitly bold

4 years agoAdd documentation for ``--format`` (#198 / #310)
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 22:53:41 +0000 (14:53 -0800)]
Add documentation for ``--format`` (#198 / #310)

4 years agoMerge pull request #310 from ilam/featuredoc
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 22:46:26 +0000 (14:46 -0800)]
Merge pull request #310 from ilam/featuredoc

Looks good, thanks @ilam

4 years agoMerge branch 'willkg:normalize_path_fix'
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 21:34:29 +0000 (13:34 -0800)]
Merge branch 'willkg:normalize_path_fix'

Pull request #343, Issues #339 / #343

4 years agoUpdate changelog for issue #339 / #343
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 20:48:35 +0000 (12:48 -0800)]
Update changelog for issue #339 / #343

4 years agoAdd Ian to list of maintainers.
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 04:52:36 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
Add Ian to list of maintainers.

4 years agoAdd a few more cases of "not value"
Ian Lee [Sat, 13 Dec 2014 05:03:03 +0000 (21:03 -0800)]
Add a few more cases of "not value"

4 years agoFixed operator check for E711/E712 (Ref #307)
Helen ST [Thu, 11 Dec 2014 21:30:45 +0000 (21:30 +0000)]
Fixed operator check for E711/E712 (Ref #307)

4 years agoE711 / E712 checks test for None != arg and False == arg
Helen ST [Thu, 11 Dec 2014 19:28:12 +0000 (19:28 +0000)]
E711 / E712 checks test for None != arg and False == arg

(Fixes #307)

4 years agoFix normalize_paths to allow whitespace
Will Kahn-Greene [Fri, 7 Nov 2014 01:23:46 +0000 (20:23 -0500)]
Fix normalize_paths to allow whitespace

This fixes normalize_paths so that it strips whitespace before and after
paths before working on them. This allows you to do specify excludes
with multiple lines in the config file.

This also tweaks normalize_paths so that the behavior matches the
docstring.

This also adds tests.

Fixes #339

4 years agoadd .tox to DEFAULT_EXCLUDE
Brian Kearns [Thu, 23 Oct 2014 23:46:28 +0000 (19:46 -0400)]
add .tox to DEFAULT_EXCLUDE

4 years agoUpdate fix for E731
Ian Cordasco [Sat, 9 Aug 2014 00:38:04 +0000 (19:38 -0500)]
Update fix for E731

Thanks to @mypalmike for thinking of the extra cases

4 years agoFix #311. Add regex to check for field assignment
Ian Cordasco [Thu, 7 Aug 2014 18:39:18 +0000 (13:39 -0500)]
Fix #311. Add regex to check for field assignment

4 years agoFixed the formatting in the table
Ilambharathi Kanniah [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 20:08:25 +0000 (13:08 -0700)]
Fixed the formatting in the table

4 years agoAdded variables table for clarity
Ilambharathi Kanniah [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 20:03:30 +0000 (13:03 -0700)]
Added variables table for clarity

4 years agoCorrected some formatting
Ilambharathi Kanniah [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 18:13:19 +0000 (11:13 -0700)]
Corrected some formatting

4 years ago#198 --feature doc updated.
Ilambharathi Kanniah [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 18:10:37 +0000 (11:10 -0700)]
#198 --feature doc updated.

4 years agoReport E402 for imports not on top of file; issue #264. Also add ability to keep...
Dmitry Jemerov [Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:29:58 +0000 (18:29 +0200)]
Report E402 for imports not on top of file; issue #264. Also add ability to keep local state for each checker plugin. #ep14boat

4 years agoDo not report E704 in the default configuration; issue #277
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 17:57:51 +0000 (19:57 +0200)]
Do not report E704 in the default configuration; issue #277

4 years agoReport E266 instead of E265 when the block common starts with multiple #; issue #270
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 17:33:09 +0000 (19:33 +0200)]
Report E266 instead of E265 when the block common starts with multiple #; issue #270

4 years agoReplace codes E111/2/3 with E114/5/6 for indentation of comments; issue #274
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 17:27:05 +0000 (19:27 +0200)]
Replace codes E111/2/3 with E114/5/6 for indentation of comments; issue #274

4 years agoAdd changelog entries for E704 and E731
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 17:20:14 +0000 (19:20 +0200)]
Add changelog entries for E704 and E731

4 years agoReport E731 for lambda assignment, return E704 for one-liner def instead of E701...
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 17:14:06 +0000 (19:14 +0200)]
Report E731 for lambda assignment, return E704 for one-liner def instead of E701; issue #277

4 years agoRelease version 1.5.7
Florent Xicluna [Thu, 29 May 2014 16:57:00 +0000 (18:57 +0200)]
Release version 1.5.7

4 years agoAdd Python 3.4 to .travis.yml
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 26 May 2014 22:04:13 +0000 (00:04 +0200)]
Add Python 3.4 to .travis.yml

4 years agoAdd changelog entry
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 26 May 2014 21:23:50 +0000 (23:23 +0200)]
Add changelog entry

4 years agoMerge pull request #288 from dreadatour/universal-newline
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 26 May 2014 21:21:08 +0000 (23:21 +0200)]
Merge pull request #288 from dreadatour/universal-newline

Always open files with universal newline flag; issue #288

5 years agoAlways open files with universal newline flag
Vladimir Rudnyh [Fri, 9 May 2014 21:08:42 +0000 (01:08 +0400)]
Always open files with universal newline flag

5 years agoAdditional tests for W391
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 7 May 2014 20:35:28 +0000 (22:35 +0200)]
Additional tests for W391

5 years agoCheck the last line even if it does not end with a NL; issue #286
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 7 May 2014 20:12:42 +0000 (22:12 +0200)]
Check the last line even if it does not end with a NL; issue #286

5 years agoDo not exit when an option in setup.cfg / tox.ini is not recognized
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 5 May 2014 18:09:19 +0000 (20:09 +0200)]
Do not exit when an option in setup.cfg / tox.ini is not recognized

5 years agoMerge pull request #283 from HFulcher/master
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 21:57:27 +0000 (23:57 +0200)]
Merge pull request #283 from HFulcher/master

Add path of the user configuration on Windows to the documentation; issue #281

5 years agoFixed #281 in docs
Huw Fulcher [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 21:23:40 +0000 (22:23 +0100)]
Fixed #281 in docs

Updated the Configuration section of the Intro Documentation to tell Windows users where their .pep8 configuration file is stored.

5 years agoMerge pull request #280 from lordhellcito/patch-1
Florent Xicluna [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 16:57:35 +0000 (18:57 +0200)]
Merge pull request #280 from lordhellcito/patch-1

The Windows platform does not define signal SIGPIPE

5 years agoUpdate pep8.py
lordhellcito [Sun, 27 Apr 2014 13:51:46 +0000 (15:51 +0200)]
Update pep8.py

Windows throws an AttributeError exception instead ValueError when calls signal.SIGPIPE.

5 years agoFix tests
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 20:45:40 +0000 (22:45 +0200)]
Fix tests

5 years agoReplace codes E111/2/3 with E114/5/6 for indentation of comments; issue #274
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 20:37:04 +0000 (22:37 +0200)]
Replace codes E111/2/3 with E114/5/6 for indentation of comments; issue #274

5 years agoAdd position to E26 tests
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 19:04:56 +0000 (21:04 +0200)]
Add position to E26 tests

5 years agoReport E266 instead of E265 when the block common starts with multiple #; issue #270
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 19:02:05 +0000 (21:02 +0200)]
Report E266 instead of E265 when the block common starts with multiple #; issue #270

5 years agoAdd tests for E731, issue #277
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 16:45:35 +0000 (18:45 +0200)]
Add tests for E731, issue #277

5 years agoReport E731 for lambda assignment, return E704 for one-liner def instead of E701...
Florent Xicluna [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 16:34:09 +0000 (18:34 +0200)]
Report E731 for lambda assignment, return E704 for one-liner def instead of E701; issue #277

5 years agoMerge pull request #276 from cgar/trivial
Florent Xicluna [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:50:18 +0000 (18:50 +0200)]
Merge pull request #276 from cgar/trivial

few mispelling errors

5 years agofew mispelling errors
Carlos E. Garcia [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 14:52:40 +0000 (10:52 -0400)]
few mispelling errors

5 years agoReturn error code 1 on broken pipe, and restore compatibility with Python 2.5
Florent Xicluna [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 18:54:58 +0000 (20:54 +0200)]
Return error code 1 on broken pipe, and restore compatibility with Python 2.5

5 years agoMerge pull request #275 from winny-/master
Florent Xicluna [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:27:38 +0000 (19:27 +0200)]
Merge pull request #275 from winny-/master

Handle broken pipe in check_files()

5 years agoHandle broken pipe in check_files()
Winston Weinert [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 08:26:29 +0000 (03:26 -0500)]
Handle broken pipe in check_files()

This way partial output (e.g. "pep8 . | head") doesn't get clobbered with a
stacktrace on stderr.

5 years agoFix documentation build
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 14 Apr 2014 17:22:48 +0000 (19:22 +0200)]
Fix documentation build

5 years agoRelease version 1.5.6
Florent Xicluna [Mon, 14 Apr 2014 17:04:18 +0000 (19:04 +0200)]
Release version 1.5.6