vfs_fruit: document added zero_file_id parameter
authorUri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 12:51:32 +0000 (14:51 +0200)
committerRalph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Sun, 26 Mar 2017 17:42:16 +0000 (19:42 +0200)
BUG: https://bugzilla.samba.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12715

Signed-off-by: Uri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Ralph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
docs-xml/manpages/vfs_fruit.8.xml

index a00f6a9..0bddd4a 100644 (file)
            </listitem>
          </varlistentry>
 
+         <varlistentry>
+           <term>fruit:zero_file_id = yes | no</term>
+           <listitem>
+             <para>A <emphasis>global</emphasis> option whether to return
+             zero to queries of on-disk file identifier, if the client
+             has negotiated AAPL.</para>
+             <para>Mac applications and / or the Mac SMB
+             client code expect the on-disk file identifier to have the
+             semantics of HFS+ Catalog Node Identifier (CNID). Samba
+             doesn't provide those semantics, and that occasionally cause
+             usability issues or even data loss. Returning a file identifier
+             of zero causes the Mac client to stop using and trusting the
+             file id returned from the server.</para>
+             <para>The default is <emphasis>yes</emphasis>.</para>
+           </listitem>
+         </varlistentry>
+
        </variablelist>
 </refsect1>