docs: Clarify description for cache, lock and state directory settings
authorChristof Schmitt <cs@samba.org>
Thu, 18 Aug 2016 20:46:52 +0000 (13:46 -0700)
committerAndreas Schneider <asn@cryptomilk.org>
Fri, 19 Aug 2016 07:36:19 +0000 (09:36 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Christof Schmitt <cs@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Andreas Schneider <asn@samba.org>
docs-xml/smbdotconf/misc/cachedirectory.xml
docs-xml/smbdotconf/misc/lockdirectory.xml
docs-xml/smbdotconf/misc/statedirectory.xml

index 6ffda0b..21d7d94 100644 (file)
        <parameter moreinfo="none">cache directory</parameter> options.
        </para>
 
-       <para> This option specifies the directory where TDB files containing
-       non-persistent data will be stored.
+       <para>This option specifies the directory for storing TDB
+       files containing non-persistent data that will be kept across
+       service restarts. The directory should be placed on persistent
+       storage, but the data can be safely deleted by an
+       administrator.
        </para>
 </description>
 
index 738de2e..f8f64ff 100644 (file)
                Note: This option can not be set inside registry
                configurations.
        </para>
+       <para>The files placed in this directory are not required
+       across service restarts and can be safely placed on volatile
+       storage (e.g. tmpfs in Linux)</para>
+
 </description>
 
 <value type="default">&pathconfig.LOCKDIR;</value>
index 084f145..2f2b064 100644 (file)
@@ -13,7 +13,7 @@
        </para>
 
        <para> This option specifies the directory where TDB files containing
-       persistent data will be stored.
+       important persistent data will be stored.
        </para>
 </description>