docs-xml/smbdotconf: deprecated "profile acls"
authorStefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
Tue, 13 Jun 2017 09:59:30 +0000 (11:59 +0200)
committerJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Tue, 13 Jun 2017 16:38:14 +0000 (18:38 +0200)
commitc6bc00f1da785933d3a99454f6ef131027860602
treecd478d9a17bd94fc132efc134f69e6403feab544
parent378ae342c4e2e6b5bafbe54067d35344746be41b
docs-xml/smbdotconf: deprecated "profile acls"

This doesn't work anymore with modern clients,
and there're better ways to support profiles on a share.

Typically something like this seems to work:

[winprofiles]
  comment = Users profiles New
  path = /data/winprofiles/
  browseable = No
  read only = No
  csc policy = disable
  store dos attributes = yes
  vfs objects = acl_xattr

With chmod 1777 on /data/winprofiles/

In order to work around some locking problems, see
https://bugzilla.samba.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12833

It's also useful to something like this in the global
section in order to detect disconnects reliable:

  socket options = TCP_KEEPCNT=5 TCP_KEEPIDLE=30 TCP_KEEPINTVL=1

Signed-off-by: Stefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
docs-xml/smbdotconf/protocol/profileacls.xml