i40evf: Use smp_rmb rather than read_barrier_depends
authorBrian King <brking@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Fri, 17 Nov 2017 17:05:49 +0000 (11:05 -0600)
committerJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
Wed, 22 Nov 2017 07:52:38 +0000 (23:52 -0800)
The original issue being fixed in this patch was seen with the ixgbe
driver, but the same issue exists with i40evf as well, as the code is
very similar. read_barrier_depends is not sufficient to ensure
loads following it are not speculatively loaded out of order
by the CPU, which can result in stale data being loaded, causing
potential system crashes.

Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Brian King <brking@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>
Tested-by: Andrew Bowers <andrewx.bowers@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
drivers/net/ethernet/intel/i40evf/i40e_txrx.c

index fe817e2b6fef4468e2ed33a50de7190b08f3c282..50864f99446d3a9f22c83c984eaec4f25caa6015 100644 (file)
@@ -179,7 +179,7 @@ static bool i40e_clean_tx_irq(struct i40e_vsi *vsi,
                        break;
 
                /* prevent any other reads prior to eop_desc */
                        break;
 
                /* prevent any other reads prior to eop_desc */
-               read_barrier_depends();
+               smp_rmb();
 
                i40e_trace(clean_tx_irq, tx_ring, tx_desc, tx_buf);
                /* if the descriptor isn't done, no work yet to do */
 
                i40e_trace(clean_tx_irq, tx_ring, tx_desc, tx_buf);
                /* if the descriptor isn't done, no work yet to do */