Input: document INPUT_PROP_TOPBUTTONPAD
authorPeter Hutterer <peter.hutterer@who-t.net>
Tue, 22 Jul 2014 00:51:35 +0000 (17:51 -0700)
committerDmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Wed, 23 Jul 2014 05:20:48 +0000 (22:20 -0700)
Signed-off-by: Peter Hutterer <peter.hutterer@who-t.net>
Signed-off-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Documentation/input/event-codes.txt

index f1ea2c69648dcad46d061a78ac33036d3ac5c727..c587a966413e8597da3241f851db92f6e6df1d81 100644 (file)
@@ -281,6 +281,19 @@ gestures can normally be extracted from it.
 If INPUT_PROP_SEMI_MT is not set, the device is assumed to be a true MT
 device.
 
 If INPUT_PROP_SEMI_MT is not set, the device is assumed to be a true MT
 device.
 
+INPUT_PROP_TOPBUTTONPAD:
+-----------------------
+Some laptops, most notably the Lenovo *40 series provide a trackstick
+device but do not have physical buttons associated with the trackstick
+device. Instead, the top area of the touchpad is marked to show
+visual/haptic areas for left, middle, right buttons intended to be used
+with the trackstick.
+
+If INPUT_PROP_TOPBUTTONPAD is set, userspace should emulate buttons
+accordingly. This property does not affect kernel behavior.
+The kernel does not provide button emulation for such devices but treats
+them as any other INPUT_PROP_BUTTONPAD device.
+
 Guidelines:
 ==========
 The guidelines below ensure proper single-touch and multi-finger functionality.
 Guidelines:
 ==========
 The guidelines below ensure proper single-touch and multi-finger functionality.