bdi: Fix use after free bug in debugfs_remove()
authorTetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Mon, 23 Apr 2018 02:21:03 +0000 (11:21 +0900)
committerJens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Thu, 3 May 2018 15:36:24 +0000 (09:36 -0600)
syzbot is reporting use after free bug in debugfs_remove() [1].

This is because fault injection made memory allocation for
debugfs_create_file() from bdi_debug_register() from bdi_register_va()
fail and continued with setting WB_registered. But when debugfs_remove()
is called from debugfs_remove(bdi->debug_dir) from bdi_debug_unregister()
 from bdi_unregister() from release_bdi() because WB_registered was set
by bdi_register_va(), IS_ERR_OR_NULL(bdi->debug_dir) == false despite
debugfs_remove(bdi->debug_dir) was already called from bdi_register_va().

Fix this by making IS_ERR_OR_NULL(bdi->debug_dir) == true.

[1] https://syzkaller.appspot.com/bug?id=5ab4efd91a96dcea9b68104f159adf4af2a6dfc1

Signed-off-by: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Reported-by: syzbot <syzbot+049cb4ae097049dac137@syzkaller.appspotmail.com>
Fixes: 97f07697932e6faf ("bdi: convert bdi_debug_register to int")
Cc: weiping zhang <zhangweiping@didichuxing.com>
Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
mm/backing-dev.c

index fa5e6d7406d19e0f4e363d8ee1c5321690f3ae34..7441bd93b732000f7405f191991b102eefc26832 100644 (file)
@@ -115,6 +115,7 @@ static int bdi_debug_register(struct backing_dev_info *bdi, const char *name)
                                               bdi, &bdi_debug_stats_fops);
        if (!bdi->debug_stats) {
                debugfs_remove(bdi->debug_dir);
                                               bdi, &bdi_debug_stats_fops);
        if (!bdi->debug_stats) {
                debugfs_remove(bdi->debug_dir);
+               bdi->debug_dir = NULL;
                return -ENOMEM;
        }
 
                return -ENOMEM;
        }