extable: Enable RCU if it is not watching in kernel_text_address()
authorSteven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Fri, 22 Sep 2017 21:36:32 +0000 (17:36 -0400)
committerSteven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Sat, 23 Sep 2017 20:50:20 +0000 (16:50 -0400)
If kernel_text_address() is called when RCU is not watching, it can cause an
RCU bug because is_module_text_address(), the is_kprobe_*insn_slot()
and is_bpf_text_address() functions require the use of RCU.

Only enable RCU if it is not currently watching before it calls
is_module_text_address(). The use of rcu_nmi_enter() is used to enable RCU
because kernel_text_address() can happen pretty much anywhere (like an NMI),
and even from within an NMI. It is called via save_stack_trace() that can be
called by any WARN() or tracing function, which can happen while RCU is not
watching (for example, going to or coming from idle, or during CPU take down
or bring up).

Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: 0be964be0 ("module: Sanitize RCU usage and locking")
Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>

No differences found