scsi: qla2xxx: Fix oops in qla2x00_probe_one error path
authorDouglas Miller <dougmill@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Fri, 20 Oct 2017 13:17:22 +0000 (08:17 -0500)
committerMartin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
Tue, 31 Oct 2017 12:06:07 +0000 (08:06 -0400)
On error, kthread_create() returns an errno-encoded pointer, not NULL.
The routine qla2x00_probe_one() detects the error case and jumps to
probe_failed, but has already assigned the return value from
kthread_create() to ha->dpc_thread.  Then probe_failed checks to see if
ha->dpc_thread is not NULL before doing cleanup on it. Since in the
error case this is also not NULL, it ends up trying to access an invalid
task pointer.

Solution is to assign NULL to ha->dpc_thread in the error path to avoid
kthread cleanup in that case.

Signed-off-by: Douglas Miller <dougmill@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Himanshu Madhani <himanshu.madhani@cavium.com>
Signed-off-by: Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>
drivers/scsi/qla2xxx/qla_os.c

index 3bd956d3bc5d9597f92b612c8aa27f3c73f6fca0..dce42a416876573087e497c9cf7242e267b04b4d 100644 (file)
@@ -3212,6 +3212,7 @@ qla2x00_probe_one(struct pci_dev *pdev, const struct pci_device_id *id)
                ql_log(ql_log_fatal, base_vha, 0x00ed,
                    "Failed to start DPC thread.\n");
                ret = PTR_ERR(ha->dpc_thread);
                ql_log(ql_log_fatal, base_vha, 0x00ed,
                    "Failed to start DPC thread.\n");
                ret = PTR_ERR(ha->dpc_thread);
+               ha->dpc_thread = NULL;
                goto probe_failed;
        }
        ql_dbg(ql_dbg_init, base_vha, 0x00ee,
                goto probe_failed;
        }
        ql_dbg(ql_dbg_init, base_vha, 0x00ee,