x86: rename KERNEL_TEXT_SIZE => KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Thu, 21 Feb 2008 12:39:30 +0000 (13:39 +0100)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Tue, 26 Feb 2008 11:55:56 +0000 (12:55 +0100)
The KERNEL_TEXT_SIZE constant was mis-named, as we not only map the kernel
text but data, bss and init sections as well.

That name led me on the wrong path with the KERNEL_TEXT_SIZE regression,
because i knew how big of _text_ my images have and i knew about the 40 MB
"text" limit so i wrongly thought to be on the safe side of the 40 MB limit
with my 29 MB of text, while the total image size was slightly above 40 MB.

Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S
include/asm-x86/page_64.h

index b037b15be7f88b4bd1d20ea5fc54ab3a5234b127..a007454133a33743b60fce4ebd3c90e8c32ee85e 100644 (file)
@@ -393,7 +393,7 @@ NEXT_PAGE(level2_kernel_pgt)
         *  too.)
         */
        PMDS(0, __PAGE_KERNEL_LARGE_EXEC|_PAGE_GLOBAL,
         *  too.)
         */
        PMDS(0, __PAGE_KERNEL_LARGE_EXEC|_PAGE_GLOBAL,
-               KERNEL_TEXT_SIZE/PMD_SIZE)
+               KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE/PMD_SIZE)
 
 NEXT_PAGE(level2_spare_pgt)
        .fill   512, 8, 0
 
 NEXT_PAGE(level2_spare_pgt)
        .fill   512, 8, 0
index 3e2e3ca63048790b662ac24961250929a0d71fac..143546073b958097eef072e4d8849b820995232b 100644 (file)
@@ -51,8 +51,8 @@
  * Kernel image size is limited to 128 MB (see level2_kernel_pgt in
  * arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S), and it is mapped here:
  */
  * Kernel image size is limited to 128 MB (see level2_kernel_pgt in
  * arch/x86/kernel/head_64.S), and it is mapped here:
  */
-#define KERNEL_TEXT_SIZE       (128*1024*1024)
-#define KERNEL_TEXT_START      _AC(0xffffffff80000000, UL)
+#define KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE      (128*1024*1024)
+#define KERNEL_IMAGE_START     _AC(0xffffffff80000000, UL)
 
 #ifndef __ASSEMBLY__
 void clear_page(void *page);
 
 #ifndef __ASSEMBLY__
 void clear_page(void *page);