net/mlx5e: RX, Prefetch the xdp_frame data area
authorTariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com>
Wed, 16 May 2018 07:46:57 +0000 (10:46 +0300)
committerSaeed Mahameed <saeedm@mellanox.com>
Thu, 26 Jul 2018 22:23:57 +0000 (15:23 -0700)
A loaded XDP program might write to the xdp_frame data area,
prefetchw() it to avoid a potential cache miss.

Performance tests:
ConnectX-5, XDP_TX packet rate, single ring.
CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 v3 @ 2.50GHz

Before: 13,172,976 pps
After:  13,456,248 pps
2% gain.

Fixes: 22f453988194 ("net/mlx5e: Support XDP over Striding RQ")
Signed-off-by: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com>
Signed-off-by: Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@mellanox.com>
drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/en_rx.c

index e33ca03b21009c00d2f07f37abdfb9d4cbf8702d..15d8ae28c040c17e50d37928adac65ead8311893 100644 (file)
@@ -1099,6 +1099,7 @@ mlx5e_skb_from_cqe_mpwrq_linear(struct mlx5e_rq *rq, struct mlx5e_mpw_info *wi,
 
        dma_sync_single_range_for_cpu(rq->pdev, di->addr, head_offset,
                                      frag_size, DMA_FROM_DEVICE);
 
        dma_sync_single_range_for_cpu(rq->pdev, di->addr, head_offset,
                                      frag_size, DMA_FROM_DEVICE);
+       prefetchw(va); /* xdp_frame data area */
        prefetch(data);
 
        rcu_read_lock();
        prefetch(data);
 
        rcu_read_lock();