mm: fix data corruption due to stale mmap reads
authorJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Fri, 12 May 2017 22:46:50 +0000 (15:46 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 12 May 2017 22:57:15 +0000 (15:57 -0700)
Currently, we didn't invalidate page tables during invalidate_inode_pages2()
for DAX.  That could result in e.g. 2MiB zero page being mapped into
page tables while there were already underlying blocks allocated and
thus data seen through mmap were different from data seen by read(2).
The following sequence reproduces the problem:

 - open an mmap over a 2MiB hole

 - read from a 2MiB hole, faulting in a 2MiB zero page

 - write to the hole with write(3p). The write succeeds but we
   incorrectly leave the 2MiB zero page mapping intact.

 - via the mmap, read the data that was just written. Since the zero
   page mapping is still intact we read back zeroes instead of the new
   data.

Fix the problem by unconditionally calling invalidate_inode_pages2_range()
in dax_iomap_actor() for new block allocations and by properly
invalidating page tables in invalidate_inode_pages2_range() for DAX
mappings.

Fixes: c6dcf52c23d2d3fb5235cec42d7dd3f786b87d55
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170510085419.27601-3-jack@suse.cz
Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

No differences found