USB: unbind all interfaces before rebinding them
authorAlan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Fri, 4 Jun 2010 18:02:42 +0000 (14:02 -0400)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 4 Jun 2010 20:16:20 +0000 (13:16 -0700)
This patch (as1387) fixes a bug introduced during the changeover to
the runtime PM framework.  When a driver doesn't support resume or
reset-resume, and consequently its interfaces need to be unbound and
rebound, we have to unbind all the interfaces before trying to rebind
any of them.  Otherwise the driver's probe method for one interface
could try to claim a different interface and fail, because that other
interface hasn't been unbound yet.

This fixes Bugzilla #15788.  The symptom is that some USB sound cards
don't work after hibernation.

Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Tested-by: Fran├žois Valenduc <francois.valenduc@tvcablenet.be>
Cc: stable <stable@kernel.org> [.34]
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
drivers/usb/core/driver.c

index ded550eda5d967fbd2f91f34fab08458cf964d89..de98a94d18537835fafad621fe213c78bba00a61 100644 (file)
@@ -1328,6 +1328,7 @@ int usb_resume(struct device *dev, pm_message_t msg)
 
        /* For all other calls, take the device back to full power and
         * tell the PM core in case it was autosuspended previously.
+        * Unbind the interfaces that will need rebinding later.
         */
        } else {
                status = usb_resume_both(udev, msg);
@@ -1336,6 +1337,7 @@ int usb_resume(struct device *dev, pm_message_t msg)
                        pm_runtime_set_active(dev);
                        pm_runtime_enable(dev);
                        udev->last_busy = jiffies;
+                       do_unbind_rebind(udev, DO_REBIND);
                }
        }