x86 / CPU: Avoid unnecessary IPIs in arch_freq_get_on_cpu()
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Mon, 13 Nov 2017 01:15:39 +0000 (02:15 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 14 Nov 2017 03:42:39 +0000 (19:42 -0800)
Even though aperfmperf_snapshot_khz() caches the samples.khz value to
return if called again in a sufficiently short time, its caller,
arch_freq_get_on_cpu(), still uses smp_call_function_single() to run it
which may allow user space to trigger an IPI storm by reading from the
scaling_cur_freq cpufreq sysfs file in a tight loop.

To avoid that, move the decision on whether or not to return the cached
samples.khz value to arch_freq_get_on_cpu().

This change was part of commit 941f5f0f6ef5 ("x86: CPU: Fix up "cpu MHz"
in /proc/cpuinfo"), but it was not the reason for the revert and it
remains applicable.

Fixes: 4815d3c56d1e (cpufreq: x86: Make scaling_cur_freq behave more as expected)
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: WANG Chao <chao.wang@ucloud.cn>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

No differences found