slab: document kzfree() zeroing behavior
authorPekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Sun, 31 May 2009 10:50:38 +0000 (13:50 +0300)
committerPekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Mon, 1 Jun 2009 06:22:46 +0000 (09:22 +0300)
As suggested by Alan Cox, document the fact that kzfree() can zero out a great
deal more memory than the what the user requested from kmalloc().

Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
mm/util.c

index 55bef160b9f1484c032220b506f4ebfaeffe9a47..e79572b3684ccb9f467d42b4f18420640e706b07 100644 (file)
--- a/mm/util.c
+++ b/mm/util.c
@@ -166,6 +166,10 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(krealloc);
  *
  * The memory of the object @p points to is zeroed before freed.
  * If @p is %NULL, kzfree() does nothing.
  *
  * The memory of the object @p points to is zeroed before freed.
  * If @p is %NULL, kzfree() does nothing.
+ *
+ * Note: this function zeroes the whole allocated buffer which can be a good
+ * deal bigger than the requested buffer size passed to kmalloc(). So be
+ * careful when using this function in performance sensitive code.
  */
 void kzfree(const void *p)
 {
  */
 void kzfree(const void *p)
 {