jump_label: Invoke jump_label_test() via early_initcall()
authorJason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
Mon, 13 Nov 2017 21:48:47 +0000 (16:48 -0500)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Tue, 14 Nov 2017 07:41:41 +0000 (08:41 +0100)
Fengguang Wu reported that running the rcuperf test during boot can cause
the jump_label_test() to hit a WARN_ON(). The issue is that the core jump
label code relies on kernel_text_address() to detect when it can no longer
update branches that may be contained in __init sections. The
kernel_text_address() in turn assumes that if the system_state variable is
greter than or equal to SYSTEM_RUNNING then __init sections are no longer
valid (since the assumption is that they have been freed). However, when
rcuperf is setup to run in early boot it can call kernel_power_off() which
sets the system_state to SYSTEM_POWER_OFF.

Since rcuperf initialization is invoked via a module_init(), we can make
the dependency of jump_label_test() needing to complete before rcuperf
explicit by calling it via early_initcall().

Reported-by: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Jason Baron <jbaron@akamai.com>
Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1510609727-2238-1-git-send-email-jbaron@akamai.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
kernel/jump_label.c

index 8ff4ca4665ff830014db9b9698726ac0b732da58..8594d24e4adc2245e0f7cd0f6f48d9eef755d551 100644 (file)
@@ -769,7 +769,7 @@ static __init int jump_label_test(void)
 
        return 0;
 }
 
        return 0;
 }
-late_initcall(jump_label_test);
+early_initcall(jump_label_test);
 #endif /* STATIC_KEYS_SELFTEST */
 
 #endif /* HAVE_JUMP_LABEL */
 #endif /* STATIC_KEYS_SELFTEST */
 
 #endif /* HAVE_JUMP_LABEL */