qed: fix link config error handling
authorArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Fri, 2 Nov 2018 15:36:24 +0000 (16:36 +0100)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Sun, 4 Nov 2018 02:27:33 +0000 (19:27 -0700)
gcc-8 notices that qed_mcp_get_transceiver_data() may fail to
return a result to the caller:

drivers/net/ethernet/qlogic/qed/qed_mcp.c: In function 'qed_mcp_trans_speed_mask':
drivers/net/ethernet/qlogic/qed/qed_mcp.c:1955:2: error: 'transceiver_type' may be used uninitialized in this function [-Werror=maybe-uninitialized]

When an error is returned by qed_mcp_get_transceiver_data(), we
should propagate that to the caller of qed_mcp_trans_speed_mask()
rather than continuing with uninitialized data.

Fixes: c56a8be7e7aa ("qed: Add supported link and advertise link to display in ethtool.")
Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
drivers/net/ethernet/qlogic/qed/qed_mcp.c

index f40f654398a0782457240fa74bf81e0c65d7bf32..a96364df43203dbfe9b326a385a50b53dd1900c9 100644 (file)
@@ -1944,9 +1944,12 @@ int qed_mcp_trans_speed_mask(struct qed_hwfn *p_hwfn,
                             struct qed_ptt *p_ptt, u32 *p_speed_mask)
 {
        u32 transceiver_type, transceiver_state;
+       int ret;
 
-       qed_mcp_get_transceiver_data(p_hwfn, p_ptt, &transceiver_state,
-                                    &transceiver_type);
+       ret = qed_mcp_get_transceiver_data(p_hwfn, p_ptt, &transceiver_state,
+                                          &transceiver_type);
+       if (ret)
+               return ret;
 
        if (qed_is_transceiver_ready(transceiver_state, transceiver_type) ==
                                     false)