[PATCH] Make mkcompile_h use LANG=C and LC_ALL=C for $CC -v
authors situert <situert@yahoo.com>
Wed, 14 Feb 2007 08:32:55 +0000 (00:32 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 14 Feb 2007 16:09:51 +0000 (08:09 -0800)
Fix a minor bug in mkcompile_h.  As one can see, the current locale is used
while getting the version of gcc.  This produces problems when a locale
other than C or en_US is used.  As an example, my /proc/version contains
Turkish characters in iso-8859-9 encoding.

This patch fixes this issue by making sure that the C locale is used to get
gcc's version.

Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
scripts/mkcompile_h

index d7b8a384b4a7991960d33c7c01c60d6f58f92fd6..82d0af46f0ef01a6b10ccdbfc22614cc56436bed 100755 (executable)
@@ -58,7 +58,7 @@ UTS_TRUNCATE="sed -e s/\(.\{1,$UTS_LEN\}\).*/\1/"
     echo \#define LINUX_COMPILE_DOMAIN
   fi
 
     echo \#define LINUX_COMPILE_DOMAIN
   fi
 
-  echo \#define LINUX_COMPILER \"`$CC -v 2>&1 | tail -n 1`\"
+  echo \#define LINUX_COMPILER \"`LC_ALL=C LANG=C $CC -v 2>&1 | tail -n 1`\"
 ) > .tmpcompile
 
 # Only replace the real compile.h if the new one is different,
 ) > .tmpcompile
 
 # Only replace the real compile.h if the new one is different,