ALSA: Remove warning message for invalid OSS minor ranges
authorTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Mon, 18 Jan 2010 13:16:24 +0000 (14:16 +0100)
committerTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Mon, 18 Jan 2010 13:18:55 +0000 (14:18 +0100)
When a card instance with a higher card number is registered, warning
messages are spewed eventually with stack traces due to the invalid minor
number for OSS device registration.  For example, thinkpad-acpi registers
the card number 29 as default, and you'll see always these messages.
This is rather confusing (and worries users), thus better to return
simply the error code.

Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
sound/core/sound_oss.c

index 7fe12264ff80d60cba667b37804e082dc82d8ef3..0c164e5e43222b1787463fbb265084b4142d4953 100644 (file)
@@ -93,7 +93,7 @@ static int snd_oss_kernel_minor(int type, struct snd_card *card, int dev)
        default:
                return -EINVAL;
        }
        default:
                return -EINVAL;
        }
-       if (snd_BUG_ON(minor < 0 || minor >= SNDRV_OSS_MINORS))
+       if (minor < 0 || minor >= SNDRV_OSS_MINORS)
                return -EINVAL;
        return minor;
 }
                return -EINVAL;
        return minor;
 }