btrfs: Use sizeof directly instead of a constant variable
authorNikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
Tue, 13 Mar 2018 08:26:06 +0000 (10:26 +0200)
committerDavid Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Fri, 30 Mar 2018 23:26:56 +0000 (01:26 +0200)
The kernel would like to have all stack VLA usage removed[1].
Unfortunately using an integer constant variable as the size of an
array is still considered a VLA. Instead let's use directly sizeof(var)
which removes the VLA usage. Use the occasion to remove csum_size
altogether and use sizeof() also for the size passed to memcmp

[1]: https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/3/7/621

Signed-off-by: Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
fs/btrfs/disk-io.c

index 156116655a32f788ab581b2db2a8a1fb770f38aa..b203982d66bcf14cee2880d6b8fc3877dd52a850 100644 (file)
@@ -403,8 +403,7 @@ static int btrfs_check_super_csum(struct btrfs_fs_info *fs_info,
 
        if (csum_type == BTRFS_CSUM_TYPE_CRC32) {
                u32 crc = ~(u32)0;
 
        if (csum_type == BTRFS_CSUM_TYPE_CRC32) {
                u32 crc = ~(u32)0;
-               const int csum_size = sizeof(crc);
-               char result[csum_size];
+               char result[sizeof(crc)];
 
                /*
                 * The super_block structure does not span the whole
 
                /*
                 * The super_block structure does not span the whole
@@ -415,7 +414,7 @@ static int btrfs_check_super_csum(struct btrfs_fs_info *fs_info,
                                crc, BTRFS_SUPER_INFO_SIZE - BTRFS_CSUM_SIZE);
                btrfs_csum_final(crc, result);
 
                                crc, BTRFS_SUPER_INFO_SIZE - BTRFS_CSUM_SIZE);
                btrfs_csum_final(crc, result);
 
-               if (memcmp(raw_disk_sb, result, csum_size))
+               if (memcmp(raw_disk_sb, result, sizeof(result)))
                        ret = 1;
        }
 
                        ret = 1;
        }