btrfs: move ulist allocation out of transaction in quota enable
authorDavid Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Wed, 19 Dec 2018 18:47:37 +0000 (19:47 +0100)
committerDavid Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Wed, 27 Feb 2019 13:10:25 +0000 (14:10 +0100)
The allocation happens with GFP_KERNEL after a transaction has been
started, this can potentially cause deadlock if reclaim tries to get the
memory by flushing filesystem data.

The fs_info::qgroup_ulist is not used during transaction start when
quotas are not enabled. The status bit BTRFS_FS_QUOTA_ENABLED is set
later in btrfs_quota_enable so it's safe to move it before the
transaction start.

Reviewed-by: Filipe Manana <fdmanana@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
fs/btrfs/qgroup.c

index c1cd5558a6462ce6b3fc4520d9dc4ec011c991d5..eb680b715dd6b2f50e7d98026a8dcc256797eacc 100644 (file)
@@ -894,6 +894,12 @@ int btrfs_quota_enable(struct btrfs_fs_info *fs_info)
        if (fs_info->quota_root)
                goto out;
 
        if (fs_info->quota_root)
                goto out;
 
+       fs_info->qgroup_ulist = ulist_alloc(GFP_KERNEL);
+       if (!fs_info->qgroup_ulist) {
+               ret = -ENOMEM;
+               goto out;
+       }
+
        /*
         * 1 for quota root item
         * 1 for BTRFS_QGROUP_STATUS item
        /*
         * 1 for quota root item
         * 1 for BTRFS_QGROUP_STATUS item
@@ -909,13 +915,6 @@ int btrfs_quota_enable(struct btrfs_fs_info *fs_info)
                goto out;
        }
 
                goto out;
        }
 
-       fs_info->qgroup_ulist = ulist_alloc(GFP_KERNEL);
-       if (!fs_info->qgroup_ulist) {
-               ret = -ENOMEM;
-               btrfs_abort_transaction(trans, ret);
-               goto out;
-       }
-
        /*
         * initially create the quota tree
         */
        /*
         * initially create the quota tree
         */