[PATCH] reiserfs: reiserfs_file_write() will lose error code when a 0-length write...
authorJeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Sat, 25 Mar 2006 11:07:00 +0000 (03:07 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>
Sat, 25 Mar 2006 16:22:51 +0000 (08:22 -0800)
When an error occurs in reiserfs_file_write before any data is written, and
O_SYNC is set, the return code of generic_osync_write will overwrite the
error code, losing it.

This patch ensures that generic_osync_inode() doesn't run under an error
condition, losing the error.  This duplicates the logic from
generic_file_buffered_write().

Signed-off-by: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <mason@suse.com>
Cc: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Cc: Alexander Zarochentsev <zam@namesys.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
fs/reiserfs/file.c

index be12879bb179ac881134a1c7ed9dc0d577d7b061..044de8be39a7f9875f1a77c2ea952332ec576d45 100644 (file)
@@ -1546,10 +1546,10 @@ static ssize_t reiserfs_file_write(struct file *file,   /* the file we are going t
                }
        }
 
                }
        }
 
-       if ((file->f_flags & O_SYNC) || IS_SYNC(inode))
-               res =
-                   generic_osync_inode(inode, file->f_mapping,
-                                       OSYNC_METADATA | OSYNC_DATA);
+       if (likely(res >= 0) &&
+           (unlikely((file->f_flags & O_SYNC) || IS_SYNC(inode))))
+               res = generic_osync_inode(inode, file->f_mapping,
+                                         OSYNC_METADATA | OSYNC_DATA);
 
        mutex_unlock(&inode->i_mutex);
        reiserfs_async_progress_wait(inode->i_sb);
 
        mutex_unlock(&inode->i_mutex);
        reiserfs_async_progress_wait(inode->i_sb);