SCTP: lock_sock_nested in sctp_sock_migrate
authorZach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com>
Fri, 22 Jun 2007 22:14:46 +0000 (15:14 -0700)
committerVlad Yasevich <vladislav.yasevich@hp.com>
Tue, 26 Jun 2007 13:29:09 +0000 (09:29 -0400)
sctp_sock_migrate() grabs the socket lock on a newly allocated socket while
holding the socket lock on an old socket.  lockdep worries that this might
be a recursive lock attempt.

 task/3026 is trying to acquire lock:
  (sk_lock-AF_INET){--..}, at: [<ffffffff88105b8c>] sctp_sock_migrate+0x2e3/0x327 [sctp]
 but task is already holding lock:
  (sk_lock-AF_INET){--..}, at: [<ffffffff8810891f>] sctp_accept+0xdf/0x1e3 [sctp]

This patch tells lockdep that this locking is safe by using
lock_sock_nested().

Signed-off-by: Zach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Vlad Yasevich <vladislav.yasevich@hp.com>
net/sctp/socket.c

index 2fc036699d4833a964396ab65e432a214d9d02dc..67861a8f00cb3ecd814affc27a73902b140250db 100644 (file)
@@ -6123,8 +6123,11 @@ static void sctp_sock_migrate(struct sock *oldsk, struct sock *newsk,
         * queued to the backlog.  This prevents a potential race between
         * backlog processing on the old socket and new-packet processing
         * on the new socket.
         * queued to the backlog.  This prevents a potential race between
         * backlog processing on the old socket and new-packet processing
         * on the new socket.
+        *
+        * The caller has just allocated newsk so we can guarantee that other
+        * paths won't try to lock it and then oldsk.
         */
         */
-       sctp_lock_sock(newsk);
+       lock_sock_nested(newsk, SINGLE_DEPTH_NESTING);
        sctp_assoc_migrate(assoc, newsk);
 
        /* If the association on the newsk is already closed before accept()
        sctp_assoc_migrate(assoc, newsk);
 
        /* If the association on the newsk is already closed before accept()