i386: Fix wrong CPU error message in early boot path
authorChristian Volkmann <haveaniceday@cv-sv.de>
Mon, 21 May 2007 12:31:48 +0000 (14:31 +0200)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 21 May 2007 16:56:57 +0000 (09:56 -0700)
- boot/setup.S did not print "PANIC: CPU too old for this kernel"
  ( not visible, also the message did not match )
- I add "# missed before: set ds"
  => somebody should check if I am right with the way to set.
  => seems to be a generic error in setup.S not to set "ds" for error messages.

AK: extracted patch out of other changes
AK: also couldn't find any other case where ds is wrong
Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/i386/boot/setup.S

index f8b3b9cda2b15b7addee40419b4c82c737da8852..6dbcc95b21209a65e7d3050fadfc69ac7a9f8344 100644 (file)
@@ -310,6 +310,8 @@ loader_ok:
        call verify_cpu
        testl  %eax,%eax
        jz      cpu_ok
        call verify_cpu
        testl  %eax,%eax
        jz      cpu_ok
+       movw    %cs,%ax         # aka SETUPSEG
+       movw    %ax,%ds
        lea     cpu_panic_mess,%si
        call    prtstr
 1:     jmp     1b
        lea     cpu_panic_mess,%si
        call    prtstr
 1:     jmp     1b