[POWERPC] Ensure FULL_REGS on exec
authorRoland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Mon, 24 Sep 2007 23:52:44 +0000 (16:52 -0700)
committerPaul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Tue, 25 Sep 2007 10:40:41 +0000 (20:40 +1000)
When PTRACE_O_TRACEEXEC is used, a ptrace call to fetch the registers at
the PTRACE_EVENT_EXEC stop (PTRACE_PEEKUSR) will oops in CHECK_FULL_REGS.
With recent versions, "gdb --args /bin/sh -c 'exec /bin/true'" and "run" at
the (gdb) prompt is sufficient to produce this.  I also have written an
isolated test case, see https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=301791#c15.

This change fixes the problem by clearing the low bit of pt_regs.trap in
start_thread so that FULL_REGS is true again.  This is correct since all of
the GPRs that "full" refers to are cleared in start_thread.

Signed-off-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
arch/powerpc/kernel/process.c

index e477c9d0498bed92efd0ebad78db4db4187afd9f..8a1b001d0b110fa5a31a3fb53ed215312680f04c 100644 (file)
@@ -605,6 +605,13 @@ void start_thread(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long start, unsigned long sp)
        regs->ccr = 0;
        regs->gpr[1] = sp;
 
        regs->ccr = 0;
        regs->gpr[1] = sp;
 
+       /*
+        * We have just cleared all the nonvolatile GPRs, so make
+        * FULL_REGS(regs) return true.  This is necessary to allow
+        * ptrace to examine the thread immediately after exec.
+        */
+       regs->trap &= ~1UL;
+
 #ifdef CONFIG_PPC32
        regs->mq = 0;
        regs->nip = start;
 #ifdef CONFIG_PPC32
        regs->mq = 0;
        regs->nip = start;