kernel: add bit rotation helpers for 16 and 8 bit
authorHarvey Harrison <harvey.harrison@gmail.com>
Fri, 28 Mar 2008 21:16:01 +0000 (14:16 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 28 Mar 2008 21:45:22 +0000 (14:45 -0700)
Will replace open-coded variants elsewhere.  Done in the same
style as the 32-bit versions.

Signed-off-by: Harvey Harrison <harvey.harrison@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Cc: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>
Cc: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Jiri Benc <jbenc@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/bitops.h

index 69c1edb9fe54a345f061cf983fe8311805c83154..40d54731de7e0b9fb6b44ebf7db983ea58fc1ac2 100644 (file)
@@ -65,6 +65,46 @@ static inline __u32 ror32(__u32 word, unsigned int shift)
        return (word >> shift) | (word << (32 - shift));
 }
 
        return (word >> shift) | (word << (32 - shift));
 }
 
+/**
+ * rol16 - rotate a 16-bit value left
+ * @word: value to rotate
+ * @shift: bits to roll
+ */
+static inline __u16 rol16(__u16 word, unsigned int shift)
+{
+       return (word << shift) | (word >> (16 - shift));
+}
+
+/**
+ * ror16 - rotate a 16-bit value right
+ * @word: value to rotate
+ * @shift: bits to roll
+ */
+static inline __u16 ror16(__u16 word, unsigned int shift)
+{
+       return (word >> shift) | (word << (16 - shift));
+}
+
+/**
+ * rol8 - rotate an 8-bit value left
+ * @word: value to rotate
+ * @shift: bits to roll
+ */
+static inline __u8 rol8(__u8 word, unsigned int shift)
+{
+       return (word << shift) | (word >> (8 - shift));
+}
+
+/**
+ * ror8 - rotate an 8-bit value right
+ * @word: value to rotate
+ * @shift: bits to roll
+ */
+static inline __u8 ror8(__u8 word, unsigned int shift)
+{
+       return (word >> shift) | (word << (8 - shift));
+}
+
 static inline unsigned fls_long(unsigned long l)
 {
        if (sizeof(l) == 4)
 static inline unsigned fls_long(unsigned long l)
 {
        if (sizeof(l) == 4)