[PATCH] powerpc vDSO: use VM_ALWAYSDUMP
authorRoland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Fri, 26 Jan 2007 08:56:51 +0000 (00:56 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 26 Jan 2007 21:50:58 +0000 (13:50 -0800)
This patch fixes core dumps to include the vDSO vma, which is left out now.

Signed-off-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/powerpc/kernel/vdso.c

index a4b28c73bba067e3fc7734b1c87dc46b67f1ceea..ae0ede19879ded35d9dba71b760e887aff75e020 100644 (file)
@@ -284,6 +284,13 @@ int arch_setup_additional_pages(struct linux_binprm *bprm,
         * pages though
         */
        vma->vm_flags = VM_READ|VM_EXEC|VM_MAYREAD|VM_MAYWRITE|VM_MAYEXEC;
         * pages though
         */
        vma->vm_flags = VM_READ|VM_EXEC|VM_MAYREAD|VM_MAYWRITE|VM_MAYEXEC;
+       /*
+        * Make sure the vDSO gets into every core dump.
+        * Dumping its contents makes post-mortem fully interpretable later
+        * without matching up the same kernel and hardware config to see
+        * what PC values meant.
+        */
+       vma->vm_flags |= VM_ALWAYSDUMP;
        vma->vm_flags |= mm->def_flags;
        vma->vm_page_prot = protection_map[vma->vm_flags & 0x7];
        vma->vm_ops = &vdso_vmops;
        vma->vm_flags |= mm->def_flags;
        vma->vm_page_prot = protection_map[vma->vm_flags & 0x7];
        vma->vm_ops = &vdso_vmops;