net/mlx5: Fix read from coherent memory
authorEli Cohen <eli@mellanox.com>
Sun, 2 Sep 2018 09:01:53 +0000 (12:01 +0300)
committerSaeed Mahameed <saeedm@mellanox.com>
Mon, 17 Sep 2018 22:12:31 +0000 (15:12 -0700)
Use accessor function READ_ONCE to read from coherent memory modified
by the device and read by the driver. This becomes most important in
preemptive kernels where cond_resched implementation does not have the
side effect which guaranteed the updated value.

Fixes: 269d26f47f6f ("net/mlx5: Reduce command polling interval")
Change-Id: Ie6deeb565ffaf76777b07448c7fbcce3510bbb8a
Signed-off-by: Eli Cohen <eli@mellanox.com>
Reported-by: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@mellanox.com>
drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/cmd.c

index 3ce14d42ddc8984eecc2c19cb73f8d379b7f6498..a53736c26c0cec416b119878356e2beffe17b37e 100644 (file)
@@ -206,7 +206,7 @@ static void poll_timeout(struct mlx5_cmd_work_ent *ent)
        u8 own;
 
        do {
-               own = ent->lay->status_own;
+               own = READ_ONCE(ent->lay->status_own);
                if (!(own & CMD_OWNER_HW)) {
                        ent->ret = 0;
                        return;