fsnotify: Fix busy inodes during unmount
authorJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Wed, 17 Oct 2018 11:07:05 +0000 (13:07 +0200)
committerJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Thu, 25 Oct 2018 13:49:19 +0000 (15:49 +0200)
commit721fb6fbfd2132164c2e8777cc837f9b2c1794dc
tree72be987a81f1ba85ecb1fd60b2f412ed0a08c44c
parent99c228a994ec8b1580c43631866fd2c5440f5bfd
fsnotify: Fix busy inodes during unmount

Detaching of mark connector from fsnotify_put_mark() can race with
unmounting of the filesystem like:

  CPU1 CPU2
fsnotify_put_mark()
  spin_lock(&conn->lock);
  ...
  inode = fsnotify_detach_connector_from_object(conn)
  spin_unlock(&conn->lock);
generic_shutdown_super()
  fsnotify_unmount_inodes()
    sees connector detached for inode
      -> nothing to do
  evict_inode()
    barfs on pending inode reference
  iput(inode);

Resulting in "Busy inodes after unmount" message and possible kernel
oops. Make fsnotify_unmount_inodes() properly wait for outstanding inode
references from detached connectors.

Note that the accounting of outstanding inode references in the
superblock can cause some cacheline contention on the counter. OTOH it
happens only during deletion of the last notification mark from an inode
(or during unlinking of watched inode) and that is not too bad. I have
measured time to create & delete inotify watch 100000 times from 64
processes in parallel (each process having its own inotify group and its
own file on a shared superblock) on a 64 CPU machine. Average and
standard deviation of 15 runs look like:

Avg Stddev
Vanilla 9.817400 0.276165
Fixed 9.710467 0.228294

So there's no statistically significant difference.

Fixes: 6b3f05d24d35 ("fsnotify: Detach mark from object list when last reference is dropped")
CC: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
fs/notify/fsnotify.c
fs/notify/mark.c
include/linux/fs.h