scripts/spdxcheck.py: always open files in binary mode
authorThierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Fri, 14 Dec 2018 22:17:24 +0000 (14:17 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 14 Dec 2018 23:05:45 +0000 (15:05 -0800)
commit3a6ab5c7dc114057fd67750e308e1745dafc0e6a
tree9ef923539d2117b4859921fa890d50e93771eea5
parentf1733a1d3cd32a9492f4cf866be37bb46e10163d
scripts/spdxcheck.py: always open files in binary mode

The spdxcheck script currently falls over when confronted with a binary
file (such as Documentation/logo.gif).  To avoid that, always open files
in binary mode and decode line-by-line, ignoring encoding errors.

One tricky case is when piping data into the script and reading it from
standard input.  By default, standard input will be opened in text mode,
so we need to reopen it in binary mode.

The breakage only happens with python3 and results in a
UnicodeDecodeError (according to Uwe).

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181212131210.28024-1-thierry.reding@gmail.com
Fixes: 6f4d29df66ac ("scripts/spdxcheck.py: make python3 compliant")
Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Cline <jcline@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
scripts/spdxcheck.py