x86/mm/kasan: Don't use vmemmap_populate() to initialize shadow
authorAndrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Thu, 16 Nov 2017 01:36:35 +0000 (17:36 -0800)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Sun, 17 Dec 2017 12:57:26 +0000 (13:57 +0100)
x86/mm/kasan: Don't use vmemmap_populate() to initialize shadow

[ Note, this is a Git cherry-pick of the following commit:

    d17a1d97dc20: ("x86/mm/kasan: don't use vmemmap_populate() to initialize shadow")

  ... for easier x86 PTI code testing and back-porting. ]

The KASAN shadow is currently mapped using vmemmap_populate() since that
provides a semi-convenient way to map pages into init_top_pgt.  However,
since that no longer zeroes the mapped pages, it is not suitable for
KASAN, which requires zeroed shadow memory.

Add kasan_populate_shadow() interface and use it instead of
vmemmap_populate().  Besides, this allows us to take advantage of
gigantic pages and use them to populate the shadow, which should save us
some memory wasted on page tables and reduce TLB pressure.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171103185147.2688-2-pasha.tatashin@oracle.com
Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com>
Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: Bob Picco <bob.picco@oracle.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>