rsync.git
3 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.2 v3.1.2
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2015 20:00:49 +0000 (12:00 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.2

3 years agoImprove the "use chroot" & "numeric ids" info a bit more.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2015 19:56:24 +0000 (11:56 -0800)]
Improve the "use chroot" & "numeric ids" info a bit more.

3 years agoImprove the comment a bit more.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2015 18:54:02 +0000 (10:54 -0800)]
Improve the comment a bit more.

3 years agoFix rule for out-of-tree builds.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Dec 2015 00:09:58 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
Fix rule for out-of-tree builds.
Fixes bug 11635.

3 years agoDon't allow an empty flag name to --info & --debug.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Dec 2015 22:46:28 +0000 (14:46 -0800)]
Don't allow an empty flag name to --info & --debug.

3 years agoDocument expand_item_list's args & make sure incr==0 works OK.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Dec 2015 22:38:10 +0000 (14:38 -0800)]
Document expand_item_list's args & make sure incr==0 works OK.

3 years agoFix return of stat info from try_dests_reg().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Dec 2015 19:10:24 +0000 (11:10 -0800)]
Fix return of stat info from try_dests_reg().

The try_dests_reg() function could sometimes tweak the stat struct's
info when it should have been left unchanged.  This fixes bug 11545
(where an ACL check of a file that was mistakenly thought to be a
directory failed).

3 years agoAdd -wo option for write-only rrsync mode.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Sep 2015 23:15:17 +0000 (16:15 -0700)]
Add -wo option for write-only rrsync mode.

3 years agoFixed logging of %b & %c when using --log-file.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 7 Sep 2015 16:46:31 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Fixed logging of %b & %c when using --log-file.

The %b and %c escapes were outputting cumulative values when logged via
--log-file only (the bug didn't affect daemon transfer logging or the
output of the client's --out-format info).  Also unified the %b & %c
switch case to make it easier to maintain.  Fixes bug 11496.

3 years agoAdd support for netbsd in xattrs case.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 2 Sep 2015 19:20:50 +0000 (12:20 -0700)]
Add support for netbsd in xattrs case.
Closes bug-suggestion 11484.

3 years agoChange daemon's gid list to use an "item_list".
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 18:23:31 +0000 (11:23 -0700)]
Change daemon's gid list to use an "item_list".

3 years agoAdd configure option to set max daemon gid list.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 17:07:43 +0000 (10:07 -0700)]
Add configure option to set max daemon gid list.
Fixes bug 11456.

3 years agoAvoid creating even the top-level backup dir until needed.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 03:58:04 +0000 (20:58 -0700)]
Avoid creating even the top-level backup dir until needed.
Fixes bug 11423.

3 years agoImprove make_path() error return for non-dir element.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 03:52:59 +0000 (20:52 -0700)]
Improve make_path() error return for non-dir element.

3 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.2pre1 v3.1.2pre1
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Aug 2015 19:47:35 +0000 (12:47 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.2pre1

3 years agoUpdate the copyright year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Aug 2015 19:47:03 +0000 (12:47 -0700)]
Update the copyright year.

3 years agoMention latest fixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Aug 2015 19:28:55 +0000 (12:28 -0700)]
Mention latest fixes.

3 years agoDon't create so many empty backup dirs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Aug 2015 19:19:42 +0000 (12:19 -0700)]
Don't create so many empty backup dirs.
Fixes bug 10724.

3 years agoAllow samba.org hostname to be overridden.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jul 2015 21:31:08 +0000 (14:31 -0700)]
Allow samba.org hostname to be overridden.

3 years agoImprove mergedir filter handling internals.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2015 17:56:13 +0000 (10:56 -0700)]
Improve mergedir filter handling internals.
Fixes bug 10995.

3 years agoMake sure chk subdir can't diverge in time from its src subdir.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 21:00:45 +0000 (14:00 -0700)]
Make sure chk subdir can't diverge in time from its src subdir.

3 years agoAvoid --remove-sent-file issue for non-regular files.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 20:25:37 +0000 (13:25 -0700)]
Avoid --remove-sent-file issue for non-regular files.

3 years agoMention local-only effect of --msgs2stderr.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 20:10:05 +0000 (13:10 -0700)]
Mention local-only effect of --msgs2stderr.

3 years agoMention how we handle a module named "global".
Wayne Davison [Sun, 12 Jul 2015 17:38:32 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
Mention how we handle a module named "global".

3 years agoBrant Gurganus's autoconf updates.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 7 Jul 2015 17:33:58 +0000 (10:33 -0700)]
Brant Gurganus's autoconf updates.

This improves some obsolete autoconf macros and increases the minimum
autoconf version from 2.60 to 2.69.  Fixes bug 11369.

3 years agoAdd parent-dir validation for --no-inc-recurse too.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jul 2015 23:08:08 +0000 (16:08 -0700)]
Add parent-dir validation for --no-inc-recurse too.

3 years agoChange "fail" to "test_fail".
Wayne Davison [Wed, 10 Jun 2015 22:20:01 +0000 (15:20 -0700)]
Change "fail" to "test_fail".
Fixes bug 11322.

4 years agoMake the checksum_seed a bit harder to predict.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 11 May 2015 21:31:07 +0000 (14:31 -0700)]
Make the checksum_seed a bit harder to predict.

4 years agoAdd compat flag to allow proper seed checksum order.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 11 May 2015 19:36:20 +0000 (12:36 -0700)]
Add compat flag to allow proper seed checksum order.
Fixes the equivalent of librsync's CVE-2014-8242 issue.

4 years agoPass -I option to aclocal.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 May 2015 22:17:41 +0000 (15:17 -0700)]
Pass -I option to aclocal.

4 years agoUse AS_IF instead of plain if/then/fi
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:42 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Use AS_IF instead of plain if/then/fi

4 years agoIgnore .deps directories.
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:41 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Ignore .deps directories.

4 years agoCheck for perl and assign it to a var since it is needed for generating the protocol...
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:40 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Check for perl and assign it to a var since it is needed for generating the protocol header.

4 years agoRemove dead targets from build system
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:39 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Remove dead targets from build system

4 years agoHandle configure's new version style.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Apr 2015 00:30:15 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
Handle configure's new version style.

4 years agoSpecify package name and version in call to AC_INIT
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:38 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Specify package name and version in call to AC_INIT

4 years agoProperly quote arguments for AC_LIBOBJ.
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:37 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Properly quote arguments for AC_LIBOBJ.

4 years agoMust define LIBOBJDIR in the Makefile.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 May 2015 21:25:50 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Must define LIBOBJDIR in the Makefile.

4 years agoUse AC_CONFIG_LIBOBJ_DIR and AC_REPLACE_FUNCS to adhere to autoconf standards
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:36 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Use AC_CONFIG_LIBOBJ_DIR and AC_REPLACE_FUNCS to adhere to autoconf standards

4 years agoModularize m4 macros
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:35 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Modularize m4 macros

Split acinclude.m4 into one file per function in m4/

4 years agoProperly quote m4 macro
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:34 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Properly quote m4 macro

4 years agoUpdate generated-files logic.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Apr 2015 23:25:56 +0000 (16:25 -0700)]
Update generated-files logic.

4 years agoRename aclocal.m4 to acinclude.m4 and add make target
Tiziano Müller [Wed, 8 Apr 2015 11:29:33 +0000 (13:29 +0200)]
Rename aclocal.m4 to acinclude.m4 and add make target

It is common practice to split up m4 files for easier maintenance and
generate the required aclocal.m4 using `aclocal` instead.

4 years agorsync: fix of-by-one in check of snprintf() result.
Stefan Behrens [Tue, 21 Apr 2015 11:50:38 +0000 (13:50 +0200)]
rsync: fix of-by-one in check of snprintf() result.
Fixes bug 11229.

4 years agoComplain if an inc-recursive path is not right for its dir.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Dec 2014 20:41:03 +0000 (12:41 -0800)]
Complain if an inc-recursive path is not right for its dir.
This ensures that a malicious sender can't use a just-sent
symlink as a trasnfer path.

4 years agoMention that --append can be dangerous.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Dec 2014 19:12:55 +0000 (11:12 -0800)]
Mention that --append can be dangerous.

4 years agoCall set_modtime even if only NSEC is different.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Dec 2014 19:02:03 +0000 (11:02 -0800)]
Call set_modtime even if only NSEC is different.

4 years agoUse usleep() for msleep() if it is available.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 27 Nov 2014 19:57:35 +0000 (11:57 -0800)]
Use usleep() for msleep() if it is available.

4 years agoAdd a missing closing paren.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 10 Oct 2014 21:15:11 +0000 (14:15 -0700)]
Add a missing closing paren.

4 years agoPrepare the repository for more development.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Sep 2014 17:52:49 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
Prepare the repository for more development.

4 years agoMention DRY RUN in --debug=exit output.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Sep 2014 17:47:13 +0000 (10:47 -0700)]
Mention DRY RUN in --debug=exit output.

4 years agoAdding the long options that BackupPC likes to use.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 4 Sep 2014 20:06:13 +0000 (13:06 -0700)]
Adding the long options that BackupPC likes to use.

4 years agoSet GIT_MERGE_AUTOEDIT=no in the environment.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 22:59:32 +0000 (15:59 -0700)]
Set GIT_MERGE_AUTOEDIT=no in the environment.

4 years agoMatch latest git's repo branch message.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 21:52:30 +0000 (14:52 -0700)]
Match latest git's repo branch message.

4 years agoMatch latest git's repo status messages.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 21:43:32 +0000 (14:43 -0700)]
Match latest git's repo status messages.

4 years agoRemove superfluous ${INSTALL_STRIP} uses.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 21:39:09 +0000 (14:39 -0700)]
Remove superfluous ${INSTALL_STRIP} uses.

4 years agoFix a typo.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Jul 2014 21:38:16 +0000 (14:38 -0700)]
Fix a typo.

4 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.1 v3.1.1
Wayne Davison [Sun, 22 Jun 2014 16:50:03 +0000 (09:50 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.1

4 years agoAdd a clarification about shell wildcard expansion.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 22 Jun 2014 16:41:17 +0000 (09:41 -0700)]
Add a clarification about shell wildcard expansion.

4 years agoMake sure the link() destination file doesn't exist.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 22 Jun 2014 16:04:24 +0000 (09:04 -0700)]
Make sure the link() destination file doesn't exist.

4 years agoMake sure cmp_time() doesn't mess up due to a time_t overflow.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 Jun 2014 00:30:09 +0000 (17:30 -0700)]
Make sure cmp_time() doesn't mess up due to a time_t overflow.
Fixes bug 10643.

4 years agoUpdated NEWS & tweaked a comment.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 14 Jun 2014 16:55:37 +0000 (09:55 -0700)]
Updated NEWS & tweaked a comment.

4 years agoPut zlib and popt -I options early in the CFLAGS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 14 Jun 2014 16:48:56 +0000 (09:48 -0700)]
Put zlib and popt -I options early in the CFLAGS.

4 years agoFix hard-link bugs when receiver isn't capable.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:58:26 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Fix hard-link bugs when receiver isn't capable.

If the receiving side cannot hard-link symlinks and/or special files
(including devices) then we now properly handle incoming hard-linked
items (creating separate identical items).

4 years agoAdded a flag to disable xattr hlink optimization.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 8 Jun 2014 17:22:09 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
Added a flag to disable xattr hlink optimization.

I added a compatibility flag for protocol 31 that will let both sides
know if they should be using the xattr optimization that attempted to
avoid sending xattr info for hardlinked files.  Since this optimization
was causing some issues, this compatibility flag will ensure that both
sides know if they should be trying to use the optimization or not.

4 years agoI missed this tweak in the undo of a prior xattr optimization.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 8 Jun 2014 17:21:27 +0000 (10:21 -0700)]
I missed this tweak in the undo of a prior xattr optimization.

4 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.1pre2 v3.1.1pre2
Wayne Davison [Mon, 26 May 2014 22:42:03 +0000 (15:42 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.1pre2

4 years agoMention all the latest changes in the NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 26 May 2014 21:08:20 +0000 (14:08 -0700)]
Mention all the latest changes in the NEWS.

4 years agoAvoid an xattr-finding glitch on the receiver.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 26 May 2014 21:04:49 +0000 (14:04 -0700)]
Avoid an xattr-finding glitch on the receiver.
Fixes bug 9594.

4 years agoAdd new-compress option to rrsync.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 26 May 2014 19:13:01 +0000 (12:13 -0700)]
Add new-compress option to rrsync.

4 years agoMake --omit-dir-times avoid early-create directories.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 25 May 2014 23:36:02 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Make --omit-dir-times avoid early-create directories.

4 years agoExit with a partial-transfer error for a sender-remove failure.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 25 May 2014 22:58:14 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Exit with a partial-transfer error for a sender-remove failure.

5 years agoCheck for attr lib.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 5 May 2014 16:25:13 +0000 (09:25 -0700)]
Check for attr lib.

5 years agoFix usermap/groupmap parsing of MIN-MAX IDs.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 19:34:15 +0000 (12:34 -0700)]
Fix usermap/groupmap parsing of MIN-MAX IDs.

5 years agoCheck F_IS_ACTIVE() in a few more spots.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 20 Apr 2014 21:35:55 +0000 (14:35 -0700)]
Check F_IS_ACTIVE() in a few more spots.

The code needs to ignore flist entries that were marked inactive (by
either duplicate removal or empty-dir pruning) in a few more spots.

5 years agoChange args to file_checksum() to prepare for future changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Apr 2014 23:26:35 +0000 (16:26 -0700)]
Change args to file_checksum() to prepare for future changes.

5 years agoAdd new-style compression that skips matching data.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Apr 2014 19:11:11 +0000 (12:11 -0700)]
Add new-style compression that skips matching data.

Adding new-style compression that only compresses the literal data that
is sent over the wire and not also matching file data that was not sent.
This new-style compression is compatible with external zlib instances,
and will eventually become the default (once enough time has passed that
all servers support the --new-compress and --old-compress options).

NOTE: if you build rsync with an external zlib (i.e. if you specified
configure --with-included-zlib=no) you will ONLY get support for the
--new-compress option!  A client will treat -z as uncompressed (with a
warning) and a server will exit with an error (unless -zz was used).

5 years agoExpand the backslash description a bit more in excludes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Apr 2014 17:16:00 +0000 (10:16 -0700)]
Expand the backslash description a bit more in excludes.

5 years agoAvoid infinite wait reading secrets file.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Apr 2014 20:44:58 +0000 (13:44 -0700)]
Avoid infinite wait reading secrets file.

5 years agoReceiver now rejects invalid filenames in filelist.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Apr 2014 17:36:59 +0000 (10:36 -0700)]
Receiver now rejects invalid filenames in filelist.

If the receiver gets a filename with a leading slash (w/o --relative)
and/or a filename with an embedded ".." dir in the path, it dies with
an error (rather than continuing). Those invalid paths should never
happen in reality, so just reject someone trying to pull a fast one.

5 years agoMention how "max verbosity" affects info & debug opts.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 7 Mar 2014 22:27:18 +0000 (14:27 -0800)]
Mention how "max verbosity" affects info & debug opts.

5 years agoHave receiver strip bogus leading slashes on filenames.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Mar 2014 00:37:44 +0000 (16:37 -0800)]
Have receiver strip bogus leading slashes on filenames.

If the receiver is running without --relative, it shouldn't be receiving
any filenames with a leading slash.  To ensure that the sender doesn't
try to pull a fast one on us, we now make flist_sort_and_clean() strip a
leading slash even if --relative isn't specified.

5 years agoAvoid the use of an extra leading dot when using --temp-dir.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:44:01 +0000 (13:44 -0800)]
Avoid the use of an extra leading dot when using --temp-dir.

5 years agoExplicitly mention that dirs aren't affected by --update.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 19:30:07 +0000 (11:30 -0800)]
Explicitly mention that dirs aren't affected by --update.

5 years agoInclude a systemd file that some distros might want.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:16:35 +0000 (10:16 -0800)]
Include a systemd file that some distros might want.

5 years agoFix --info=progress2 info as a file is transferred.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 24 Feb 2014 17:49:04 +0000 (09:49 -0800)]
Fix --info=progress2 info as a file is transferred.

Applying Anish Shankar's patch to fix speed and stats of files as they
are transferred.  Fixes bug 10450.

5 years agoImprove the *.spec file a bit.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jan 2014 17:57:28 +0000 (09:57 -0800)]
Improve the *.spec file a bit.

5 years agoUse the patch's list of generated files for each patch.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jan 2014 17:18:03 +0000 (09:18 -0800)]
Use the patch's list of generated files for each patch.

5 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.1pre1 v3.1.1pre1
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:32:43 +0000 (09:32 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.1pre1

5 years agoBump the year to 2014.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:29:15 +0000 (09:29 -0800)]
Bump the year to 2014.

5 years agoMore NEWS improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:21:47 +0000 (09:21 -0800)]
More NEWS improvements.

5 years agoFix "unchanged" protocol designation.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Jan 2014 03:44:30 +0000 (19:44 -0800)]
Fix "unchanged" protocol designation.

5 years agoMention the latest NEWS items.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 23:24:07 +0000 (15:24 -0800)]
Mention the latest NEWS items.

5 years agoUndo the hard-link xattr optimization in 78286a03.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 22:59:43 +0000 (14:59 -0800)]
Undo the hard-link xattr optimization in 78286a03.

I'm backing out the xattr optimization that was put in to try
to make xattr data sending more optimal on hard-linked files.
The code was causing hard-to-reproduce bugs, and it's better to
get things done fully & correctly over fully optimally.

5 years agoFix the leaving of a temp file w/o partial-file saving.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 22:35:05 +0000 (14:35 -0800)]
Fix the leaving of a temp file w/o partial-file saving.
Fixed bug 10350.

5 years agoAvoid ACL and/or xattr lookups on IS_MISSING_FILE() entries.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 20:24:01 +0000 (12:24 -0800)]
Avoid ACL and/or xattr lookups on IS_MISSING_FILE() entries.
Fixes bug 10381.

5 years agoAdd IS_MISSING_FILE(statbuf) macro.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 20:23:39 +0000 (12:23 -0800)]
Add IS_MISSING_FILE(statbuf) macro.

5 years agoAdding IVAL64() and SIVAL64().
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 20:02:38 +0000 (12:02 -0800)]
Adding IVAL64() and SIVAL64().

5 years agoHandle more x86 hosts w/o resorting to CAREFUL_ALIGNMENT.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jan 2014 19:48:14 +0000 (11:48 -0800)]
Handle more x86 hosts w/o resorting to CAREFUL_ALIGNMENT.

5 years agoWe really depend on autoconf 2.60 these days.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 2 Jan 2014 18:56:03 +0000 (10:56 -0800)]
We really depend on autoconf 2.60 these days.