rsync.git
5 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.0 v3.1.0
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Sep 2013 20:55:54 +0000 (13:55 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.0

5 years agoRemove unused var.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Sep 2013 20:53:23 +0000 (13:53 -0700)]
Remove unused var.

5 years agoFlush write buffer on an aborted in-place transfer.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Sep 2013 17:11:35 +0000 (10:11 -0700)]
Flush write buffer on an aborted in-place transfer.

5 years agoMention latest news.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 Sep 2013 16:23:35 +0000 (09:23 -0700)]
Mention latest news.

5 years agoFix the visit-all-patches path.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 Sep 2013 16:15:14 +0000 (09:15 -0700)]
Fix the visit-all-patches path.

5 years agoFix error in write_sparse() on incomplete write.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 Sep 2013 16:00:53 +0000 (09:00 -0700)]
Fix error in write_sparse() on incomplete write.

Fix a problem where sparse_seek could get left non-zero when we
did not finish writing all the data that would take us to that
sparse gap.  Issue pointed out by David Taylor.

5 years agoRemove bypassed checksums in --inplace to improve speed.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Aug 2013 16:44:13 +0000 (09:44 -0700)]
Remove bypassed checksums in --inplace to improve speed.

When checking a checksum that refers to a part of an --inplace file that
has been overwritten w/o getting SUMFLG_SAME_OFFSET set, we remove the
checksum from the list.  This will speed up files that have a lot of
identical checksum blocks (e.g. sequences of zeros) that we can't use
due to them not getting marked as being the same.  Patch provided by
Michael Chapman.

5 years agoPreparing for release of 3.1.0pre1 v3.1.0pre1
Wayne Davison [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 17:36:43 +0000 (10:36 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.1.0pre1

5 years agoWe need a trailing dot when using --server --daemon.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 22:28:54 +0000 (15:28 -0700)]
We need a trailing dot when using --server --daemon.

5 years agoLook for REMOTE_HOST before SSH_* environment options.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 12 Jul 2013 22:24:58 +0000 (15:24 -0700)]
Look for REMOTE_HOST before SSH_* environment options.

5 years agoSet DESTDIR for make install.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 23 Jun 2013 22:47:09 +0000 (15:47 -0700)]
Set DESTDIR for make install.

5 years agoMention latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jun 2013 23:59:24 +0000 (16:59 -0700)]
Mention latest changes.

5 years agoBe a little clearer about full-line comments.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jun 2013 23:43:14 +0000 (16:43 -0700)]
Be a little clearer about full-line comments.

5 years agoGet GPL name right.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jun 2013 23:36:27 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Get GPL name right.

5 years agoMention right option when using --delete-delay.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jun 2013 23:33:32 +0000 (16:33 -0700)]
Mention right option when using --delete-delay.

5 years agoSupport rsync daemon over SSL via stunnel.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jun 2013 21:40:52 +0000 (14:40 -0700)]
Support rsync daemon over SSL via stunnel.

Added the client rsync-ssl script and various client/daemon support
files needed for talking to an rsync daemon over SSL on port 874 (no
tls support).  This uses an elegant stunnel setup that was detailed
by dozzie (see the resources page) now that stunnel4 has improved
command-spawning support.  Also incorporates some tweaks by devzero
(e.g. the nice no-tmpfile-config client-side code) and a few by me
(including logging of the actual remote IP that came in to the
stunnel process).  This probably still needs a little work.

5 years agoFix "make check".
Wayne Davison [Wed, 12 Jun 2013 01:06:53 +0000 (18:06 -0700)]
Fix "make check".

5 years agoMove some code from util.c to util2.c and add sum_as_hex().
Wayne Davison [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 20:35:19 +0000 (13:35 -0700)]
Move some code from util.c to util2.c and add sum_as_hex().

5 years agoSet number_separator the first time it gets used.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 11 Jun 2013 20:28:45 +0000 (13:28 -0700)]
Set number_separator the first time it gets used.

5 years agoMore NEWS changes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 05:28:24 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
More NEWS changes.

5 years agoUpgrading zlib to 1.2.8.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 05:24:10 +0000 (22:24 -0700)]
Upgrading zlib to 1.2.8.

5 years agoRename lsh.pl -> lsh.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 02:40:00 +0000 (19:40 -0700)]
Rename lsh.pl -> lsh.

5 years agoRename lsh -> lsh.sh.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jun 2013 02:39:44 +0000 (19:39 -0700)]
Rename lsh -> lsh.sh.

5 years agoUpdating NEWS with the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 9 Jun 2013 22:11:06 +0000 (15:11 -0700)]
Updating NEWS with the latest changes.

5 years agoAllow --password-file=- for a stdin-supplied password.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 9 Jun 2013 19:04:25 +0000 (12:04 -0700)]
Allow --password-file=- for a stdin-supplied password.

5 years agoFix module-name splitting with --protect-args.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 22:53:40 +0000 (15:53 -0700)]
Fix module-name splitting with --protect-args.
Fixes bug 8838.

5 years agoTweak --checksum-seed docs.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 20:14:27 +0000 (13:14 -0700)]
Tweak --checksum-seed docs.

5 years agoAvoid preallocation on inplace file that is already long enough.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jun 2013 19:37:48 +0000 (12:37 -0700)]
Avoid preallocation on inplace file that is already long enough.

5 years agoLook for got_kill_signal in a couple more spots.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 28 May 2013 05:53:48 +0000 (22:53 -0700)]
Look for got_kill_signal in a couple more spots.

5 years agoImprove logic of code vs exit_code (etc.) in cleanup.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 May 2013 23:18:49 +0000 (16:18 -0700)]
Improve logic of code vs exit_code (etc.) in cleanup.

5 years agoForward a MSG_ERROR_EXIT value to generator too.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 May 2013 23:10:57 +0000 (16:10 -0700)]
Forward a MSG_ERROR_EXIT value to generator too.
Fixes bug 9882.

5 years agoAvoid I/O via signal-handler thread.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 May 2013 21:52:50 +0000 (14:52 -0700)]
Avoid I/O via signal-handler thread.

The cleanup code will try to flush the output buffer in some
circumstances, which is not valid if we're handling an async signal
(since it might have interrupted some partial I/O in the main thread).
These signals now set a flag and try to let the main I/O handler take
care of the exit strategy.  Fixes a protocol error that could happen
when trying to exit after a kill signal.

6 years agoImprove iconvbufs() to do more buffer size checks.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 23:56:34 +0000 (23:56 +0000)]
Improve iconvbufs() to do more buffer size checks.

- If iconv() returns EINVAL or EILSEQ and the error is being ignored, make
  sure that there is room in the output buffer to store the erroneous char.
- When accepting an erroneous char, be sure to break if there are no more
  input characters (without calling iconv() with a zero input length).

6 years agoFix msleep() if time goes backwards. Fixes bug 9789.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 22:52:00 +0000 (22:52 +0000)]
Fix msleep() if time goes backwards.  Fixes bug 9789.

6 years agoFixed unused variable warnings in free_stat_x.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 21:31:27 +0000 (21:31 +0000)]
Fixed unused variable warnings in free_stat_x.

6 years agoAdd an implementation of getpass for systems that lack one.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 21:28:02 +0000 (21:28 +0000)]
Add an implementation of getpass for systems that lack one.

6 years agoUse S_IXUSR instead of the now-obsolete S_IEXEC.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 21:25:58 +0000 (21:25 +0000)]
Use S_IXUSR instead of the now-obsolete S_IEXEC.

6 years agoUpdated to the version dated 2013-04-24.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 21:23:07 +0000 (21:23 +0000)]
Updated to the version dated 2013-04-24.

6 years agoUpdated to the version dated 2013-05-16.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 May 2013 21:23:07 +0000 (21:23 +0000)]
Updated to the version dated 2013-05-16.

6 years agoImprove description of --max-delete.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 20 Jan 2013 19:30:08 +0000 (11:30 -0800)]
Improve description of --max-delete.

6 years agoFix weird error in test programs on SunOS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 20:04:17 +0000 (12:04 -0800)]
Fix weird error in test programs on SunOS.

6 years agoUpdate copyright year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 19:05:53 +0000 (11:05 -0800)]
Update copyright year.

6 years agoUpdate OLDNEWS with 3.0.9 info.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 19:02:37 +0000 (11:02 -0800)]
Update OLDNEWS with 3.0.9 info.

6 years agoFree ACL/xattr info in try_dests_reg() loop.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 18:20:49 +0000 (10:20 -0800)]
Free ACL/xattr info in try_dests_reg() loop.

6 years agoAdd free_stat_x() inline function.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 18:20:49 +0000 (10:20 -0800)]
Add free_stat_x() inline function.

6 years agoFurther improve non-empty-destination --link-dest behavior:
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 17:52:56 +0000 (09:52 -0800)]
Further improve non-empty-destination --link-dest behavior:
- Avoid relinking a file that is already linked correctly.
- Avoid trashing the stat buffer of an existing file in try_dests_reg().

6 years agoRemove -3 return from try_dests_reg() again -- let it do a local copy
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 17:08:36 +0000 (09:08 -0800)]
Remove -3 return from try_dests_reg() again -- let it do a local copy
when the dest file is unlinked and the hard link fails.

6 years agoAlign fileio's map_ptr() reads. Fixes bug 8177.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Jan 2013 23:07:03 +0000 (15:07 -0800)]
Align fileio's map_ptr() reads.  Fixes bug 8177.

6 years agoReformat a few things for wider lines.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Jan 2013 23:18:58 +0000 (15:18 -0800)]
Reformat a few things for wider lines.

6 years agoImprove handling of existing files for alt-dest opts.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Jan 2013 19:54:01 +0000 (11:54 -0800)]
Improve handling of existing files for alt-dest opts.
Fixes bug #5644.

6 years agoPerl version of lsh that can change user w/o sudo.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 23:20:41 +0000 (16:20 -0700)]
Perl version of lsh that can change user w/o sudo.

6 years agoFix bogus "vanished file" with "./" prefixes.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 7 Oct 2012 17:46:23 +0000 (10:46 -0700)]
Fix bogus "vanished file" with "./" prefixes.
Fixes bug 9212.

6 years agoFix indentation that used expanded tabs.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 3 Oct 2012 22:20:43 +0000 (15:20 -0700)]
Fix indentation that used expanded tabs.

6 years agoAvoid an unused variable warning if no setvbuf.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 23 Sep 2012 19:03:19 +0000 (12:03 -0700)]
Avoid an unused variable warning if no setvbuf.

6 years agoMake read_args() return the full request.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Sep 2012 23:29:45 +0000 (16:29 -0700)]
Make read_args() return the full request.

When a daemon is sent multiple request args, they are now joined into a
single return value (separated by spaces) so that the RSYNC_REQUEST
environment variable is accurate for any "pre-xfer exec".  The values
in RSYNC_ARG# vars are no longer truncated at the "." arg, so that all
the request values are also listed (separately) in RSYNC_ARG#.

6 years agoMake daemon listener exit w/code 0 on SIGTERM.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 16 Jun 2012 17:30:46 +0000 (10:30 -0700)]
Make daemon listener exit w/code 0 on SIGTERM.

7 years agoSet the modtime to 0 on a partial file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 May 2012 15:01:09 +0000 (08:01 -0700)]
Set the modtime to 0 on a partial file.
Fixes debian bug 624826.

7 years agoFix --only-write-batch hang with --hard-links.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 19:51:28 +0000 (11:51 -0800)]
Fix --only-write-batch hang with --hard-links.
Fixes bug 8565.

7 years agoAdd a slash-stripping version of rsync in support dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 18:39:40 +0000 (10:39 -0800)]
Add a slash-stripping version of rsync in support dir.

7 years agoflist->in_progress is only needed w/inc_recurese.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 18:39:21 +0000 (10:39 -0800)]
flist->in_progress is only needed w/inc_recurese.

7 years agoMake stderr line-buffered w/--msgs2stderr.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 18:38:31 +0000 (10:38 -0800)]
Make stderr line-buffered w/--msgs2stderr.

7 years agoAdd new --outbuf=N|L|B option.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 28 Jan 2012 18:36:43 +0000 (10:36 -0800)]
Add new --outbuf=N|L|B option.

7 years agoAllow --max-size=0 and --min-size=0.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 24 Dec 2011 20:33:17 +0000 (12:33 -0800)]
Allow --max-size=0 and --min-size=0.
Fixes bug 7965.

7 years agoComplain if the --block-size=N value is too large.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 24 Dec 2011 20:18:40 +0000 (12:18 -0800)]
Complain if the --block-size=N value is too large.
Fixes bug 8036.

7 years agoImprove the handling of verbose/debug messages
Wayne Davison [Wed, 21 Dec 2011 16:30:07 +0000 (08:30 -0800)]
Improve the handling of verbose/debug messages

The sender no longer allows a filelist to be sent in the middle of
parsing an incoming message, so that the directory sending doesn't block
all further input reading.  The generator no longer allows recursive
reading of info/error messages when it is waiting for the message buffer
to flush.  This avoids a stack overflow when lots of messages are coming
from the receiver and the sender is not reading things quickly enough.
The I/O code now avoids sending debug messages that could mess up the
I/O buffer it was in the middle of tweaking.  This fixes an infinite
loop in reduce_iobuf_size() with high levels of debug enabled.  Several
I/O-related messages were changed to output only when --msgs2stderr is
enabled.

7 years agoAvoid double-free of xattr/acl data in real_sx.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 16 Dec 2011 17:03:25 +0000 (09:03 -0800)]
Avoid double-free of xattr/acl data in real_sx.
Fixes bug 8665.

7 years agoMention that %a and %h are daemon-only escapes.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 24 Nov 2011 15:55:11 +0000 (07:55 -0800)]
Mention that %a and %h are daemon-only escapes.

7 years agoAnother asprintf() return-value-check tweak.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Nov 2011 21:14:35 +0000 (13:14 -0800)]
Another asprintf() return-value-check tweak.

7 years agoCommitting missed manpage tweak.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Nov 2011 20:36:50 +0000 (12:36 -0800)]
Committing missed manpage tweak.

7 years agomake repeated --fuzzy option look into alt-dest dirs.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Nov 2011 16:14:01 +0000 (08:14 -0800)]
make repeated --fuzzy option look into alt-dest dirs.

7 years agoAdd compatibility with an unmodified zlib.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 17:22:14 +0000 (09:22 -0800)]
Add compatibility with an unmodified zlib.

7 years agoFix --compress data-duplication bug.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 17:13:11 +0000 (09:13 -0800)]
Fix --compress data-duplication bug.

7 years agoFix version expansion.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Nov 2011 17:10:49 +0000 (09:10 -0800)]
Fix version expansion.

7 years agoFix --delete-missing-args when --relative is active.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 22 Oct 2011 17:20:08 +0000 (10:20 -0700)]
Fix --delete-missing-args when --relative is active.

7 years agoTest asprintf() failure with < 0, not <= 0.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Oct 2011 16:16:43 +0000 (09:16 -0700)]
Test asprintf() failure with < 0, not <= 0.

7 years agoLet's cast getpid() to an int instead of a long for snprintf().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 8 Oct 2011 16:15:36 +0000 (09:15 -0700)]
Let's cast getpid() to an int instead of a long for snprintf().

7 years agoFix two unused-variable compiler warnings.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 23 Sep 2011 06:37:07 +0000 (23:37 -0700)]
Fix two unused-variable compiler warnings.

7 years agoFix xattr memory leak. Fixes bug 8475.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 22 Sep 2011 16:02:21 +0000 (09:02 -0700)]
Fix xattr memory leak.  Fixes bug 8475.

7 years agoTestsuite/dir-sgid: use symbolic mode to set sgid bit
Ben Walton [Wed, 21 Sep 2011 02:57:39 +0000 (22:57 -0400)]
Testsuite/dir-sgid: use symbolic mode to set sgid bit

The chmod on Solaris (9 and 10) cannot set the sgid bit on a directory
using absolute mode, so use symbolic mode.  Avoids a skipped test.

7 years agoAdd solaris xattr support to the tests.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 20:19:39 +0000 (13:19 -0700)]
Add solaris xattr support to the tests.
Change the xattr case statements to use $HOST_OS.
(Slightly tweaked version of a Ben Walton patch.)

7 years agoBetter fakeroot support helps Solaris.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 20:10:02 +0000 (13:10 -0700)]
Better fakeroot support helps Solaris.

7 years agoChange stat order for better ELOOP determination.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 20:02:12 +0000 (13:02 -0700)]
Change stat order for better ELOOP determination.

7 years agoBe sure to use STRUCT_STAT.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 20 Sep 2011 19:54:06 +0000 (12:54 -0700)]
Be sure to use STRUCT_STAT.

7 years agoMake do_readlink() support fake-super w/o O_NOFOLLOW.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 19 Sep 2011 16:18:18 +0000 (09:18 -0700)]
Make do_readlink() support fake-super w/o O_NOFOLLOW.

7 years agoMake --delete-excluded work better with --filter=merge.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 14:40:50 +0000 (07:40 -0700)]
Make --delete-excluded work better with --filter=merge.

7 years agoWhen modifying PATH, export it (for Solaris).
Wayne Davison [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 14:27:23 +0000 (07:27 -0700)]
When modifying PATH, export it (for Solaris).

7 years agoAdded "SORTED TRANSFER ORDER" manpage section.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 22:58:25 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Added "SORTED TRANSFER ORDER" manpage section.

7 years agoCleanup some manpage & --help info.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 22:25:19 +0000 (15:25 -0700)]
Cleanup some manpage & --help info.

7 years agoUse "|| true" in our `xattr` test runs.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 15:07:31 +0000 (08:07 -0700)]
Use "|| true" in our `xattr` test runs.

7 years agoMake sure other early exit calls can't hang in noop_io_until_death().
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 00:56:23 +0000 (17:56 -0700)]
Make sure other early exit calls can't hang in noop_io_until_death().

7 years agoImprove the usage for --help.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 12 Sep 2011 05:46:57 +0000 (22:46 -0700)]
Improve the usage for --help.

7 years agoBetter configure support for Solaris xattrs
Ben Walton [Mon, 12 Sep 2011 00:57:05 +0000 (02:57 +0200)]
Better configure support for Solaris xattrs

If we have the attropen() function, allow OS conditional enabling of
extended attribute support.  This removes the need to pass
--enable-extended-attributes to force the feature activation on Solaris.

7 years agoFix a potential hang on an empty file list.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 18:07:02 +0000 (11:07 -0700)]
Fix a potential hang on an empty file list.
Fixes bug 8423.

7 years agoDocument --msgs2stderr.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 18:01:04 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
Document --msgs2stderr.

7 years agoError out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 7 Sep 2011 04:18:32 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Error out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Fixes bug 8440.

7 years agoDirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Sep 2011 19:40:12 +0000 (12:40 -0700)]
Dirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Fixes bug 8242.

7 years agoMove implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 21:58:04 +0000 (14:58 -0700)]
Move implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.

7 years agoFix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 18:56:57 +0000 (11:56 -0700)]
Fix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.

7 years agoFix bwlimit multiplication overflow. Fixes bug 8375.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:28:20 +0000 (10:28 -0700)]
Fix bwlimit multiplication overflow.  Fixes bug 8375.

7 years agoSome option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:07:28 +0000 (10:07 -0700)]
Some option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.