rsync.git
7 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.9 b3.0.x v3.0.9
Wayne Davison [Fri, 23 Sep 2011 16:13:53 +0000 (09:13 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.9

7 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 23 Sep 2011 06:33:51 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
Mention the latest changes.

7 years agoFix two unused-variable compiler warnings.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 23 Sep 2011 06:31:18 +0000 (23:31 -0700)]
Fix two unused-variable compiler warnings.

7 years agoFix xattr memory leak. Fixes bug 8475.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 22 Sep 2011 16:02:21 +0000 (09:02 -0700)]
Fix xattr memory leak.  Fixes bug 8475.

7 years agoMake --delete-excluded work better with --filter=merge.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 14:40:50 +0000 (07:40 -0700)]
Make --delete-excluded work better with --filter=merge.

7 years agoWhen modifying PATH, export it (for Solaris).
Wayne Davison [Thu, 15 Sep 2011 14:27:23 +0000 (07:27 -0700)]
When modifying PATH, export it (for Solaris).

7 years agoAdded "SORTED TRANSFER ORDER" manpage section.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 22:58:25 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Added "SORTED TRANSFER ORDER" manpage section.

7 years agoCleanup some manpage & --help info.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 13 Sep 2011 22:27:55 +0000 (15:27 -0700)]
Cleanup some manpage & --help info.

7 years agoImprove the usage for --help.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 12 Sep 2011 05:46:57 +0000 (22:46 -0700)]
Improve the usage for --help.

7 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.9pre2 v3.0.9pre2
Wayne Davison [Sat, 10 Sep 2011 21:52:19 +0000 (14:52 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.9pre2

7 years agoMention the latest changes in the NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 10 Sep 2011 20:40:48 +0000 (13:40 -0700)]
Mention the latest changes in the NEWS.

7 years agoError out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 7 Sep 2011 04:18:32 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Error out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Fixes bug 8440.

7 years agoDirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Sep 2011 19:40:12 +0000 (12:40 -0700)]
Dirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Partial fix for bug 8242.

7 years agoMove implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 21:58:04 +0000 (14:58 -0700)]
Move implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.

7 years agoFix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 18:56:57 +0000 (11:56 -0700)]
Fix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.

7 years agoFix bwlimit multiplication overflow. Fixes bug 8375.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:28:20 +0000 (10:28 -0700)]
Fix bwlimit multiplication overflow.  Fixes bug 8375.

7 years agoSome option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:07:28 +0000 (10:07 -0700)]
Some option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.

7 years agoFix misplaced parens on getnameinfo() call.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Aug 2011 18:21:40 +0000 (11:21 -0700)]
Fix misplaced parens on getnameinfo() call.

7 years agoIgnore socketpair() on cygwin. Fixes bug 8356.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Aug 2011 18:18:54 +0000 (11:18 -0700)]
Ignore socketpair() on cygwin.  Fixes bug 8356.

7 years agoFix Minix build errors. Fixes bug 8313.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 18:17:57 +0000 (11:17 -0700)]
Fix Minix build errors.  Fixes bug 8313.

7 years agoReplace another inet_ntop() call with getnameinfo().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 16 Jul 2011 22:42:32 +0000 (15:42 -0700)]
Replace another inet_ntop() call with getnameinfo().

7 years agoAdd more connect debug info, as Carlos suggested.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Jul 2011 22:58:11 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Add more connect debug info, as Carlos suggested.

7 years agoMove freeaddrinfo() call after failure-reporting loop.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Jul 2011 01:15:51 +0000 (18:15 -0700)]
Move freeaddrinfo() call after failure-reporting loop.

7 years agoMention the latest fixes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Jul 2011 23:36:41 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Mention the latest fixes.

7 years agoFix a comment.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Jul 2011 23:31:58 +0000 (16:31 -0700)]
Fix a comment.

7 years agoHandle FES_NO_SEND properly on a hard-linked file.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Jul 2011 23:02:12 +0000 (16:02 -0700)]
Handle FES_NO_SEND properly on a hard-linked file.
Fixes bug 8246.

7 years agoFix #ifdef in unchanged_attrs(). Fixes bug 8268.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jun 2011 16:52:40 +0000 (09:52 -0700)]
Fix #ifdef in unchanged_attrs(). Fixes bug 8268.

7 years agoExplicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 May 2011 18:24:07 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Explicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.

7 years agoImprove lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 9 Apr 2011 15:33:55 +0000 (08:33 -0700)]
Improve lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.

7 years agoMove var declaration for older C compilers.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 01:02:45 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Move var declaration for older C compilers.

7 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.9pre1 v3.0.9pre1
Wayne Davison [Wed, 22 Jun 2011 15:00:35 +0000 (08:00 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.9pre1

7 years agoMention latest fix.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 22 Jun 2011 14:58:23 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Mention latest fix.

7 years agoMake daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:44:26 +0000 (12:44 -0700)]
Make daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Fixes bug 7765.

7 years agoPrepare for 3.0.9pre1 release.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 17:31:30 +0000 (10:31 -0700)]
Prepare for 3.0.9pre1 release.

7 years agoMention coming Solaris support.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 17:22:24 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
Mention coming Solaris support.

7 years agoDon't force \(em in the manpages. Fixes bug 7941.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:53:10 +0000 (12:53 -0700)]
Don't force \(em in the manpages.  Fixes bug 7941.

7 years agoLinux needs symlink xattrs. Fixes bug 8201.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 16:46:06 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Linux needs symlink xattrs.  Fixes bug 8201.

7 years agoFix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 15:24:27 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
Fix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.

7 years agoExpand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 25 May 2011 15:59:47 +0000 (08:59 -0700)]
Expand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().

8 years agoAvoid adding a slash to path '/'.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 22:51:55 +0000 (15:51 -0700)]
Avoid adding a slash to path '/'.

8 years agoFix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 18:27:16 +0000 (11:27 -0700)]
Fix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.

8 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.8 v3.0.8
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:34:18 +0000 (14:34 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.8

8 years agoMention CVE-2011-1097.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:31:45 +0000 (14:31 -0700)]
Mention CVE-2011-1097.

8 years agoTweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 17:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0700)]
Tweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.

8 years agoAvoid re-setting xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 16:15:26 +0000 (09:15 -0700)]
Avoid re-setting xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Improved the xattrs testing to include hard-linking.

8 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:45:23 +0000 (19:45 -0700)]
Mention the latest changes.

8 years agoEnhance the -liconv check for OS X. Fixes bug 8018.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:31:58 +0000 (19:31 -0700)]
Enhance the -liconv check for OS X.  Fixes bug 8018.

8 years agoDon't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:42:28 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Fixes bug 8020.

8 years agoGet rid of an unused extern.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:25:12 +0000 (11:25 -0700)]
Get rid of an unused extern.

8 years agoFix xattrs test on OS X.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 03:42:58 +0000 (20:42 -0700)]
Fix xattrs test on OS X.

8 years agoA few minor NEWS improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Feb 2011 16:10:27 +0000 (08:10 -0800)]
A few minor NEWS improvements.

8 years agoClarify what extraneous hard link are.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Feb 2011 15:19:23 +0000 (07:19 -0800)]
Clarify what extraneous hard link are.

8 years agoGet rid of obsolete tempfs warning.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 23:37:13 +0000 (15:37 -0800)]
Get rid of obsolete tempfs warning.

8 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.8pre1 v3.0.8pre1
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 19:03:42 +0000 (11:03 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.8pre1

8 years agoMention even more fixes.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 18:57:10 +0000 (10:57 -0800)]
Mention even more fixes.

8 years agoSome uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 18:48:13 +0000 (10:48 -0800)]
Some uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1.

The code now avoids any special internal meaning for gid -1.  If chown()
is called with a uid or gid of -1, complain that the ID is not settable
and signal a transfer error.

8 years agoAllow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:49:21 +0000 (08:49 -0800)]
Allow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
(If our POSIX types aren't valid, we can't handle the ACLs.)

8 years agoFix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:19:50 +0000 (08:19 -0800)]
Fix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.

8 years agoFix issue with devices-fake test.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:59:08 +0000 (07:59 -0800)]
Fix issue with devices-fake test.

8 years agoFix test 5's failure message.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:41:02 +0000 (07:41 -0800)]
Fix test 5's failure message.

8 years agoMention latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 18:20:29 +0000 (10:20 -0800)]
Mention latest changes.

8 years agoA few more xattr-support fixes from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 16:04:31 +0000 (08:04 -0800)]
A few more xattr-support fixes from the master branch.

8 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

8 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

8 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

8 years agoIntegrate time-setting fixes/improvements from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 17:48:37 +0000 (09:48 -0800)]
Integrate time-setting fixes/improvements from the master branch.

8 years agoMake case_N.h more generic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:13:04 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
Make case_N.h more generic.

8 years agoBetter mask handling, including some changes to help solaris.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:40:31 +0000 (09:40 -0700)]
Better mask handling, including some changes to help solaris.

8 years agoPass "new_mode" to set_acl() and change its return values.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:27:07 +0000 (09:27 -0700)]
Pass "new_mode" to set_acl() and change its return values.

8 years agoPut file descriptor arg at the start of the arg list for consistency.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:13:38 +0000 (09:13 -0700)]
Put file descriptor arg at the start of the arg list for consistency.

8 years agoAdded more missing NEWS items.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:32:21 +0000 (23:32 -0800)]
Added more missing NEWS items.

8 years agoSome manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:31:55 +0000 (23:31 -0800)]
Some manpage enhancements.

8 years agoSuggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 06:07:22 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Suggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.

8 years agoAdd .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Feb 2011 06:07:20 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Add .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Fixes bug 7957.

8 years agoSwitch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:10:43 +0000 (22:10 -0800)]
Switch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.

8 years agoMove FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 04:52:38 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
Move FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.

8 years agoFix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Fix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Fixes bug 7936.

8 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 01:06:54 +0000 (17:06 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

8 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

8 years agoSome fixes and improvements from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:03:59 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
Some fixes and improvements from the master branch.

8 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 04:05:54 +0000 (20:05 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.  Also makes the get_tmpname() code and comments
more like the master.

8 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

8 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 19:07:47 +0000 (11:07 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make Linux avoid xattr access on symlinks.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

8 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:51:47 +0000 (11:51 -0800)]
Mention the latest changes.

8 years agoMake xattrs.test more like the master version.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:40:23 +0000 (17:40 -0800)]
Make xattrs.test more like the master version.

8 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 00:39:55 +0000 (16:39 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

8 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

8 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

8 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

8 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

8 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

8 years agoTweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 17:00:39 +0000 (09:00 -0800)]
Tweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.

8 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:27:03 +0000 (08:27 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

8 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:17:03 +0000 (08:17 -0800)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

8 years agoImprove description of --chmod example.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:13:52 +0000 (08:13 -0800)]
Improve description of --chmod example.

8 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

8 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

8 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

8 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

8 years agoAvoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 18:26:21 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Avoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Fixes bug 4664.