rsync.git
8 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.8 v3.0.8
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:34:18 +0000 (14:34 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.8

8 years agoMention CVE-2011-1097.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:31:45 +0000 (14:31 -0700)]
Mention CVE-2011-1097.

8 years agoTweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 17:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0700)]
Tweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.

8 years agoAvoid re-setting xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 16:15:26 +0000 (09:15 -0700)]
Avoid re-setting xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Improved the xattrs testing to include hard-linking.

8 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:45:23 +0000 (19:45 -0700)]
Mention the latest changes.

8 years agoEnhance the -liconv check for OS X. Fixes bug 8018.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:31:58 +0000 (19:31 -0700)]
Enhance the -liconv check for OS X.  Fixes bug 8018.

8 years agoDon't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:42:28 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Fixes bug 8020.

8 years agoGet rid of an unused extern.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:25:12 +0000 (11:25 -0700)]
Get rid of an unused extern.

8 years agoFix xattrs test on OS X.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 03:42:58 +0000 (20:42 -0700)]
Fix xattrs test on OS X.

8 years agoA few minor NEWS improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Feb 2011 16:10:27 +0000 (08:10 -0800)]
A few minor NEWS improvements.

8 years agoClarify what extraneous hard link are.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Feb 2011 15:19:23 +0000 (07:19 -0800)]
Clarify what extraneous hard link are.

8 years agoGet rid of obsolete tempfs warning.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 23:37:13 +0000 (15:37 -0800)]
Get rid of obsolete tempfs warning.

8 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.8pre1 v3.0.8pre1
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 19:03:42 +0000 (11:03 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.8pre1

8 years agoMention even more fixes.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 18:57:10 +0000 (10:57 -0800)]
Mention even more fixes.

8 years agoSome uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 18:48:13 +0000 (10:48 -0800)]
Some uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1.

The code now avoids any special internal meaning for gid -1.  If chown()
is called with a uid or gid of -1, complain that the ID is not settable
and signal a transfer error.

8 years agoAllow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:49:21 +0000 (08:49 -0800)]
Allow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
(If our POSIX types aren't valid, we can't handle the ACLs.)

8 years agoFix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:19:50 +0000 (08:19 -0800)]
Fix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.

8 years agoFix issue with devices-fake test.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:59:08 +0000 (07:59 -0800)]
Fix issue with devices-fake test.

8 years agoFix test 5's failure message.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:41:02 +0000 (07:41 -0800)]
Fix test 5's failure message.

8 years agoMention latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 18:20:29 +0000 (10:20 -0800)]
Mention latest changes.

8 years agoA few more xattr-support fixes from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 16:04:31 +0000 (08:04 -0800)]
A few more xattr-support fixes from the master branch.

8 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

8 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

8 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

8 years agoIntegrate time-setting fixes/improvements from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 17:48:37 +0000 (09:48 -0800)]
Integrate time-setting fixes/improvements from the master branch.

8 years agoMake case_N.h more generic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:13:04 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
Make case_N.h more generic.

8 years agoBetter mask handling, including some changes to help solaris.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:40:31 +0000 (09:40 -0700)]
Better mask handling, including some changes to help solaris.

8 years agoPass "new_mode" to set_acl() and change its return values.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:27:07 +0000 (09:27 -0700)]
Pass "new_mode" to set_acl() and change its return values.

8 years agoPut file descriptor arg at the start of the arg list for consistency.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Sep 2009 16:13:38 +0000 (09:13 -0700)]
Put file descriptor arg at the start of the arg list for consistency.

8 years agoAdded more missing NEWS items.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:32:21 +0000 (23:32 -0800)]
Added more missing NEWS items.

8 years agoSome manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:31:55 +0000 (23:31 -0800)]
Some manpage enhancements.

8 years agoSuggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 06:07:22 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Suggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.

8 years agoAdd .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Feb 2011 06:07:20 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Add .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Fixes bug 7957.

8 years agoSwitch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:10:43 +0000 (22:10 -0800)]
Switch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.

8 years agoMove FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 04:52:38 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
Move FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.

8 years agoFix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Fix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Fixes bug 7936.

8 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 01:06:54 +0000 (17:06 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

8 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

8 years agoSome fixes and improvements from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:03:59 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
Some fixes and improvements from the master branch.

8 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 04:05:54 +0000 (20:05 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.  Also makes the get_tmpname() code and comments
more like the master.

8 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

8 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 19:07:47 +0000 (11:07 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make Linux avoid xattr access on symlinks.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

8 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:51:47 +0000 (11:51 -0800)]
Mention the latest changes.

8 years agoMake xattrs.test more like the master version.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:40:23 +0000 (17:40 -0800)]
Make xattrs.test more like the master version.

8 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 00:39:55 +0000 (16:39 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

8 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

8 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

8 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

8 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

8 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

8 years agoTweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 17:00:39 +0000 (09:00 -0800)]
Tweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.

8 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:27:03 +0000 (08:27 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

8 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:17:03 +0000 (08:17 -0800)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

8 years agoImprove description of --chmod example.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:13:52 +0000 (08:13 -0800)]
Improve description of --chmod example.

8 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

8 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

8 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

8 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

8 years agoAvoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 18:26:21 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Avoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Fixes bug 4664.

8 years agoMention need of wildcard support in make.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:27:20 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Mention need of wildcard support in make.
See bug 7625.

8 years agoRemove duplication for -x option.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 14:58:22 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Remove duplication for -x option.

8 years agoA couple more NEWS items.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 16:30:44 +0000 (09:30 -0700)]
A couple more NEWS items.

8 years agoAlways use lchmod() if it is available.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 22:10:38 +0000 (14:10 -0800)]
Always use lchmod() if it is available.

8 years agoMention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Feb 2010 21:32:47 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
Mention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.

8 years agoDocument the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 05:24:50 +0000 (01:24 -0400)]
Document the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.

Originally explained at:

http://lists.samba.org/archive/rsync/2006-February/014838.html

8 years agoFix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.
Matt McCutchen [Mon, 8 Feb 2010 02:00:02 +0000 (21:00 -0500)]
Fix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.

8 years agoIn "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:53:42 +0000 (00:53 -0400)]
In "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.

Rsync was showing the full destination path, which was confusing because
nothing is created at that path and was especially bogus in combination
with the source name of a solo file.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=506830

8 years agoMore NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:56:09 +0000 (08:56 -0700)]
More NEWS.

8 years agoIf a module has no path setting, return an error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:54:40 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
If a module has no path setting, return an error.

8 years agoMention latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:49:46 +0000 (08:49 -0700)]
Mention latest changes.

8 years agoRefer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:14:02 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Refer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.

8 years agoFix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:47:00 +0000 (09:47 -0700)]
Fix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Fixes bug 7512.

8 years agoFix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:29:42 +0000 (09:29 -0700)]
Fix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).

8 years agoFix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:06:45 +0000 (12:06 -0700)]
Fix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.

8 years agoGet rid of trailing whitespace.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:05:01 +0000 (12:05 -0700)]
Get rid of trailing whitespace.

8 years agoMan page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:08:28 +0000 (01:08 -0400)]
Man page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.

8 years agoMore manpage improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:52:04 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
More manpage improvements.

8 years agoAmplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
Matt McCutchen [Thu, 19 Nov 2009 05:18:23 +0000 (00:18 -0500)]
Amplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
improve that of --inplace while I'm at it.

8 years agoReject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:27:38 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Reject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Based on a patch by Matt, but further tweaked to deal with -q=foo.

8 years agoMention 2010 in the main copyright.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:24:58 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
Mention 2010 in the main copyright.

8 years agoMake an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:23:31 +0000 (08:23 -0700)]
Make an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.

8 years agoSetup for 3.0.8dev.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 16:04:21 +0000 (09:04 -0700)]
Setup for 3.0.8dev.

8 years agoFixed inconsistencies reported by packaging/var-checker.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 15:58:40 +0000 (08:58 -0700)]
Fixed inconsistencies reported by packaging/var-checker.

8 years agoUpdate support/rrsync and some packaging/* scripts.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 15:22:59 +0000 (08:22 -0700)]
Update support/rrsync and some packaging/* scripts.

8 years agoRename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.
Matt McCutchen [Tue, 9 Feb 2010 01:45:39 +0000 (20:45 -0500)]
Rename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.

8 years agoWrite out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:14:15 +0000 (16:14 -0700)]
Write out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.

8 years agoTurn some asserts into descriptive errors.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:13:58 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
Turn some asserts into descriptive errors.

8 years agoMake sure our use of idev_find() hashtable is right
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:13:20 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
Make sure our use of idev_find() hashtable is right
while also supporting older rsyncs that send dev == 0.

8 years agoMake sure that the code doesn't try to use an illegal key.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:32:14 +0000 (11:32 -0700)]
Make sure that the code doesn't try to use an illegal key.

8 years agoFix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Jun 2010 06:10:47 +0000 (23:10 -0700)]
Fix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).

9 years agoRemoving now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Mar 2010 21:56:52 +0000 (14:56 -0700)]
Removing now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().

9 years agoFix directory-length overflow bug (7057).
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 23:56:40 +0000 (16:56 -0700)]
Fix directory-length overflow bug (7057).

9 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7 v3.0.7
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 21:08:07 +0000 (13:08 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7

9 years agoAllow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:58:57 +0000 (19:58 -0800)]
Allow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.

9 years agoConfigure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:57:47 +0000 (19:57 -0800)]
Configure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.

9 years agoFixed the passing of a '/' modifier for an absolute-path filter rule.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Dec 2009 20:25:33 +0000 (12:25 -0800)]
Fixed the passing of a '/' modifier for an absolute-path filter rule.

9 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7pre2 v3.0.7pre2
Wayne Davison [Thu, 24 Dec 2009 16:31:37 +0000 (08:31 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7pre2

9 years agoRevert to having the receiver handle timeouts on the receiving side.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Dec 2009 19:31:28 +0000 (11:31 -0800)]
Revert to having the receiver handle timeouts on the receiving side.
This will give 3.0.7 the standard timeout handling with just a few
improvements: a fix for the detection of recent sender I/O, the use
of MSG_DATA for really old rsync versions, and better setting of
select_timeout for shorter timeout settings.

9 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7pre1 v3.0.7pre1
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Dec 2009 02:25:00 +0000 (18:25 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7pre1

9 years agoEnsure that the generator gets notified about an I/O error for the dir
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 22:27:55 +0000 (14:27 -0800)]
Ensure that the generator gets notified about an I/O error for the dir
that generated the error.  This ensures that a --delete-during avoids
deleting in a newly transferred inc-recurse directory.  Requires 3.0.7
or greater on both sides of the transfer.