rsync.git
7 years agoDocument --msgs2stderr.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 11 Sep 2011 18:01:04 +0000 (11:01 -0700)]
Document --msgs2stderr.

7 years agoError out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 7 Sep 2011 04:18:32 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Error out if --password-file specifed and it fails.
Fixes bug 8440.

7 years agoDirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Sep 2011 19:40:12 +0000 (12:40 -0700)]
Dirs need +rx as well as +w for non-super xfers.
Fixes bug 8242.

7 years agoMove implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 21:58:04 +0000 (14:58 -0700)]
Move implied_dot_dir=1, just to be safe.

7 years agoFix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 18:56:57 +0000 (11:56 -0700)]
Fix sending of "." attributes for implied-dot-dir.

7 years agoFix bwlimit multiplication overflow. Fixes bug 8375.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:28:20 +0000 (10:28 -0700)]
Fix bwlimit multiplication overflow.  Fixes bug 8375.

7 years agoSome option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Aug 2011 17:07:28 +0000 (10:07 -0700)]
Some option-parsing clarifiation in the intro.

8 years agoFix misplaced parens on getnameinfo() call.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Aug 2011 18:21:40 +0000 (11:21 -0700)]
Fix misplaced parens on getnameinfo() call.

8 years agoIgnore socketpair() on cygwin. Fixes bug 8356.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Aug 2011 18:18:54 +0000 (11:18 -0700)]
Ignore socketpair() on cygwin.  Fixes bug 8356.

8 years agoTweak includes to fix non-defined NULL on some systems.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 1 Aug 2011 06:31:17 +0000 (23:31 -0700)]
Tweak includes to fix non-defined NULL on some systems.

8 years agoFix Minix build errors. Fixes bug 8313.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Jul 2011 18:17:57 +0000 (11:17 -0700)]
Fix Minix build errors.  Fixes bug 8313.

8 years agoReplace another inet_ntop() call with getnameinfo().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 16 Jul 2011 22:42:32 +0000 (15:42 -0700)]
Replace another inet_ntop() call with getnameinfo().

8 years agoAdd more connect debug info, as Carlos suggested.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Jul 2011 22:58:11 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
Add more connect debug info, as Carlos suggested.

8 years agoMove freeaddrinfo() call after failure-reporting loop.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Jul 2011 01:15:51 +0000 (18:15 -0700)]
Move freeaddrinfo() call after failure-reporting loop.

8 years agoFix a comment.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Jul 2011 23:31:58 +0000 (16:31 -0700)]
Fix a comment.

8 years agoHandle FES_NO_SEND properly on a hard-linked file.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Jul 2011 23:02:12 +0000 (16:02 -0700)]
Handle FES_NO_SEND properly on a hard-linked file.
Fixes bug 8246.

8 years agoFix #ifdef in unchanged_attrs(). Fixes bug 8268.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jun 2011 16:52:40 +0000 (09:52 -0700)]
Fix #ifdef in unchanged_attrs(). Fixes bug 8268.

8 years agoFix reading side of fake-symlink bug 7109.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 20:42:30 +0000 (13:42 -0700)]
Fix reading side of fake-symlink bug 7109.

8 years agoMake daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:44:26 +0000 (12:44 -0700)]
Make daemon-exclude errors more error-like.
Fixes bug 7765.

8 years agoCheck if sender file changed before allowing a remove.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:06:44 +0000 (12:06 -0700)]
Check if sender file changed before allowing a remove.
Fixes bug 7691.

8 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_USER_XATTRS on linux. Fixes bug 7109.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Jun 2011 17:12:47 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_USER_XATTRS on linux. Fixes bug 7109.

8 years agoOnly skip deletions on IOERR_GENERAL. Fixes bug 7809.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 20:04:46 +0000 (13:04 -0700)]
Only skip deletions on IOERR_GENERAL.  Fixes bug 7809.

8 years agoDon't force \(em in the manpages. Fixes bug 7941.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:53:10 +0000 (12:53 -0700)]
Don't force \(em in the manpages.  Fixes bug 7941.

8 years agoAdd a colon if a non-empty pre-xfer exec message follows.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:12:25 +0000 (12:12 -0700)]
Add a colon if a non-empty pre-xfer exec message follows.

8 years agoHandle EINTR when reading the pre-xfer exec message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 19:08:18 +0000 (12:08 -0700)]
Handle EINTR when reading the pre-xfer exec message.

8 years agoSend error messages from pre-xfer exec script to the user.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 17:38:47 +0000 (10:38 -0700)]
Send error messages from pre-xfer exec script to the user.

8 years agoLinux needs symlink xattrs. Fixes bug 8201.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 4 Jun 2011 16:46:06 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Linux needs symlink xattrs.  Fixes bug 8201.

8 years agoWe need VA_COPY() defined more. Fix dangling #endif.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 19:48:04 +0000 (12:48 -0700)]
We need VA_COPY() defined more.  Fix dangling #endif.

8 years agoMerge latest samba version to get va_end() fixes, etc.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 17:24:57 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Merge latest samba version to get va_end() fixes, etc.

8 years agoFix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 30 May 2011 15:24:27 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
Fix unwritable directory issue due to misordered chmod call.

8 years agoExpand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 25 May 2011 15:59:47 +0000 (08:59 -0700)]
Expand NO_ENTRY items from fake-super ACLs in get_rsync_acl().

8 years agoUse a union for idlist's name/max_id value. Fixes bug 8137.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 17 May 2011 01:24:34 +0000 (18:24 -0700)]
Use a union for idlist's name/max_id value.  Fixes bug 8137.

8 years agoExplicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 May 2011 18:24:07 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Explicitly mention spaces in the "path" setting.

8 years agoCheck for linux/falloc.h header file.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 16 May 2011 15:26:40 +0000 (08:26 -0700)]
Check for linux/falloc.h header file.

8 years agoAbort if the cd fails.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:58:11 +0000 (12:58 -0700)]
Abort if the cd fails.

8 years agoTurn empty remote args into dot dirs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:31:33 +0000 (12:31 -0700)]
Turn empty remote args into dot dirs.

8 years agoMake --files-from allow a missing trailing arg w/--server.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:16:12 +0000 (12:16 -0700)]
Make --files-from allow a missing trailing arg w/--server.

8 years agoMention the number of child args.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 7 May 2011 19:11:33 +0000 (12:11 -0700)]
Mention the number of child args.

8 years agoDon't die if man-copy fails.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 01:50:21 +0000 (18:50 -0700)]
Don't die if man-copy fails.

8 years agoHandle non-srcdir man copying when yodl isn't installed.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 28 Apr 2011 23:41:03 +0000 (16:41 -0700)]
Handle non-srcdir man copying when yodl isn't installed.

8 years agoAvoid adding a slash to path '/'.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 22:51:55 +0000 (15:51 -0700)]
Avoid adding a slash to path '/'.

8 years agoFix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 22 Apr 2011 18:31:29 +0000 (11:31 -0700)]
Fix a potential crash when trying to find a better block match.

8 years agoImprove lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 9 Apr 2011 15:33:55 +0000 (08:33 -0700)]
Improve lsh's handling of -l user option w/cd.

8 years agoAdd some temp-name dot heuristics for OS X's sake.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 20:35:13 +0000 (13:35 -0700)]
Add some temp-name dot heuristics for OS X's sake.

 - Drop one leading '.' from the filename (before adding our own).
 - Drop one trailing '.' from a (possibly truncated) name prior to
   the .XXXXXX suffix being added.
 - Allow the temp-name to collapse to just the .XXXXXX suffix
   if the path is long enough to require that.

Note that we don't try to remove multiple dots from a filename
that actually has multiple consecutive dots, since we might as
well learn early if the final name is going to fail or not.

8 years agoApplying the preallocate patch.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 04:44:12 +0000 (21:44 -0700)]
Applying the preallocate patch.

8 years agoMove var declaration for older C compilers.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 01:02:45 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Move var declaration for older C compilers.

8 years agoAdding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:50:00 +0000 (14:50 -0700)]
Adding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.

8 years agoVerify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 18:07:20 +0000 (11:07 -0700)]
Verify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.

8 years agoTweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 17:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0700)]
Tweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.

8 years agoAvoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 16:59:14 +0000 (09:59 -0700)]
Avoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Improved the xattrs testing to include hard-linking.

8 years agoEnhance the -liconv check for OS X. Fixes bug 8018.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:31:58 +0000 (19:31 -0700)]
Enhance the -liconv check for OS X.  Fixes bug 8018.

8 years agoGet the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:34:37 +0000 (16:34 -0700)]
Get the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.

8 years agoMake it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:29:47 +0000 (16:29 -0700)]
Make it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.

8 years agoDon't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:42:28 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Fixes bug 8020.

8 years agoFix xattrs test on OS X.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 03:42:58 +0000 (20:42 -0700)]
Fix xattrs test on OS X.

8 years agoImprove the &merge/&include example explanation.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 01:38:47 +0000 (17:38 -0800)]
Improve the &merge/&include example explanation.

8 years agoChange rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 00:09:49 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
Change rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
This allows the same rsyncd.d directory to be used for a set
of merge files (*.inc) and a set of include files (*.conf).

8 years agoSuggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 06:07:22 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Suggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.

8 years agoClarify what extraneous hard link are.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Feb 2011 15:19:23 +0000 (07:19 -0800)]
Clarify what extraneous hard link are.

8 years agoGet rid of obsolete tempfs warning.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 23:37:13 +0000 (15:37 -0800)]
Get rid of obsolete tempfs warning.

8 years agoSome uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 17:31:54 +0000 (09:31 -0800)]
Some uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.

The code now avoids any special internal meaning for uid/gid -1, which
allows it to be mapped to a better value (use 4294967295 instead of -1
as the ID to map).  Replaced atol() with something than can return a
value > 0x7FFFFFFF and that will error-out if the value overflows.  If
chown() is called with a uid or gid of -1, complain that the ID is not
settable and signal a transfer error.  Fixes bug 6936.

8 years agoAllow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:49:21 +0000 (08:49 -0800)]
Allow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
(If our POSIX types aren't valid, we can't handle the ACLs.)

8 years agoFix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:19:50 +0000 (08:19 -0800)]
Fix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.

8 years agoFix issue with devices-fake test.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:59:08 +0000 (07:59 -0800)]
Fix issue with devices-fake test.

8 years agoFix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:39:10 +0000 (07:39 -0800)]
Fix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.

8 years agoImprove some hard-link caveats in the manpage.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:29:00 +0000 (23:29 -0800)]
Improve some hard-link caveats in the manpage.

8 years agoAdd .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Feb 2011 06:07:20 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Add .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Fixes bug 7957.

8 years agoUpdated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:24:49 +0000 (22:24 -0800)]
Updated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.

8 years agoAvoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Avoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.

The I/O code can receive incremental file-list chunks during deletion,
and their OPT_EXTRA fields would get corrupted when file_extra_cnt is
incremented.

Instead of temporarily enabling uid_ndx to find out whether the user
owns a file, have make_file() set a flag for that purpose.

Applied with a few minor tweaks by Wayne.  Fixes bug 7936.

8 years agoSome minor variable and flag cleanup.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 05:50:36 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Some minor variable and flag cleanup.

8 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 00:58:14 +0000 (16:58 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

8 years agoInclude backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 19:16:49 +0000 (11:16 -0800)]
Include backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.

8 years agoSender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 05:32:15 +0000 (21:32 -0800)]
Sender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
when sending a sequence of zeros.

8 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

8 years agoFix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:00:30 +0000 (23:00 -0800)]
Fix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.

8 years agoImprove the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 01:16:32 +0000 (17:16 -0800)]
Improve the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.

8 years agoHave build farm always use included popt.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 16:00:31 +0000 (08:00 -0800)]
Have build farm always use included popt.

8 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

8 years agoAdded "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:42:27 +0000 (19:42 -0800)]
Added "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.

8 years agoDaemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 02:59:08 +0000 (18:59 -0800)]
Daemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
in hosts deny/allow config settings.

8 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 18:26:02 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

8 years agoSeparate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 05:23:19 +0000 (21:23 -0800)]
Separate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.

8 years agoClarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:20:09 +0000 (18:20 -0800)]
Clarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.

8 years agoSome --inplace manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:16:49 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
Some --inplace manpage enhancements.

8 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:30:26 +0000 (17:30 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

8 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

8 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

8 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

8 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

8 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

8 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

8 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 16:54:11 +0000 (08:54 -0800)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Fixes bug 7109.

8 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

8 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

8 years agoEnhance --chmod to allow octal values.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 05:38:23 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Enhance --chmod to allow octal values.

8 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 17:35:43 +0000 (09:35 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.

8 years agoA couple comment tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 20 Nov 2010 17:30:35 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
A couple comment tweaks.

8 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 07:22:33 +0000 (23:22 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

8 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

8 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 15:14:18 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.