rsync.git
8 years agoApplying the preallocate patch.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 04:44:12 +0000 (21:44 -0700)]
Applying the preallocate patch.

8 years agoMove var declaration for older C compilers.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 4 Apr 2011 01:02:45 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Move var declaration for older C compilers.

8 years agoAdding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 21:50:00 +0000 (14:50 -0700)]
Adding release info for 3.0.8 to the trunk.

8 years agoVerify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 18:07:20 +0000 (11:07 -0700)]
Verify the module list output of the daemon-via-ssh check.

8 years agoTweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 17:17:14 +0000 (10:17 -0700)]
Tweak dir xattrs after the writability fudging.

8 years agoAvoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Mar 2011 16:59:14 +0000 (09:59 -0700)]
Avoid re-setting (and sending) xattrs on a hard-linked file w/the same xattrs.
Improved the xattrs testing to include hard-linking.

8 years agoEnhance the -liconv check for OS X. Fixes bug 8018.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 02:31:58 +0000 (19:31 -0700)]
Enhance the -liconv check for OS X.  Fixes bug 8018.

8 years agoGet the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:34:37 +0000 (16:34 -0700)]
Get the branch set right before listing names and handling --delete.

8 years agoMake it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 23:29:47 +0000 (16:29 -0700)]
Make it possible to create a new patch file while on a patch branch.

8 years agoDon't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 21:42:28 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't send user/group names for ACLs with --numeric-ids.
Fixes bug 8020.

8 years agoFix xattrs test on OS X.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 03:42:58 +0000 (20:42 -0700)]
Fix xattrs test on OS X.

8 years agoImprove the &merge/&include example explanation.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 01:38:47 +0000 (17:38 -0800)]
Improve the &merge/&include example explanation.

8 years agoChange rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 12 Mar 2011 00:09:49 +0000 (16:09 -0800)]
Change rsyncd.conf &merge directive to match *.inc.
This allows the same rsyncd.d directory to be used for a set
of merge files (*.inc) and a set of include files (*.conf).

8 years agoSuggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 06:07:22 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Suggest a better solution for a make without wildcard support.

8 years agoClarify what extraneous hard link are.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Feb 2011 15:19:23 +0000 (07:19 -0800)]
Clarify what extraneous hard link are.

8 years agoGet rid of obsolete tempfs warning.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 23:37:13 +0000 (15:37 -0800)]
Get rid of obsolete tempfs warning.

8 years agoSome uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 17:31:54 +0000 (09:31 -0800)]
Some uid/gid fixes for (id_t)-1 and other large ID values.

The code now avoids any special internal meaning for uid/gid -1, which
allows it to be mapped to a better value (use 4294967295 instead of -1
as the ID to map).  Replaced atol() with something than can return a
value > 0x7FFFFFFF and that will error-out if the value overflows.  If
chown() is called with a uid or gid of -1, complain that the ID is not
settable and signal a transfer error.  Fixes bug 6936.

8 years agoAllow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:49:21 +0000 (08:49 -0800)]
Allow a failure of EINVAL to mean no ACLs are available.
(If our POSIX types aren't valid, we can't handle the ACLs.)

8 years agoFix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 16:19:50 +0000 (08:19 -0800)]
Fix --force with --one-file-system w/o --delete.

8 years agoFix issue with devices-fake test.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:59:08 +0000 (07:59 -0800)]
Fix issue with devices-fake test.

8 years agoFix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Feb 2011 15:39:10 +0000 (07:39 -0800)]
Fix devices test on OS w/o hard-linked devices.

8 years agoImprove some hard-link caveats in the manpage.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:29:00 +0000 (23:29 -0800)]
Improve some hard-link caveats in the manpage.

8 years agoAdd .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 18 Feb 2011 06:07:20 +0000 (22:07 -0800)]
Add .hg dir exclude to default_cvsignore list.
Fixes bug 7957.

8 years agoUpdated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:24:49 +0000 (22:24 -0800)]
Updated a comment to match a 3.0.x change.

8 years agoAvoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Avoid changing file_extra_cnt during deletion.

The I/O code can receive incremental file-list chunks during deletion,
and their OPT_EXTRA fields would get corrupted when file_extra_cnt is
incremented.

Instead of temporarily enabling uid_ndx to find out whether the user
owns a file, have make_file() set a flag for that purpose.

Applied with a few minor tweaks by Wayne.  Fixes bug 7936.

8 years agoSome minor variable and flag cleanup.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 05:50:36 +0000 (21:50 -0800)]
Some minor variable and flag cleanup.

8 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 00:58:14 +0000 (16:58 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

8 years agoInclude backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 19:16:49 +0000 (11:16 -0800)]
Include backup in map_ptr() to avoid backing up when reading.

8 years agoSender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2011 05:32:15 +0000 (21:32 -0800)]
Sender realigns chunks with generator during an --inplace copy
when sending a sequence of zeros.

8 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

8 years agoFix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:00:30 +0000 (23:00 -0800)]
Fix a bug in the trailing-slash handling.

8 years agoImprove the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 01:16:32 +0000 (17:16 -0800)]
Improve the discussion of the absolute-filter alternative.

8 years agoHave build farm always use included popt.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 16:00:31 +0000 (08:00 -0800)]
Have build farm always use included popt.

8 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

8 years agoAdded "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:42:27 +0000 (19:42 -0800)]
Added "listen backlog" daemon config paramater.

8 years agoDaemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 02:59:08 +0000 (18:59 -0800)]
Daemon supports forward-DNS lookups for simple hostnames
in hosts deny/allow config settings.

8 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 18:26:02 +0000 (10:26 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

8 years agoSeparate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 05:23:19 +0000 (21:23 -0800)]
Separate the dirs from the files in xattrs.text.

8 years agoClarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:20:09 +0000 (18:20 -0800)]
Clarify incremental recursion's effect on --hard-link.

8 years agoSome --inplace manpage enhancements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 02:16:49 +0000 (18:16 -0800)]
Some --inplace manpage enhancements.

8 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:30:26 +0000 (17:30 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

8 years agoBe clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:28:56 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Be clear on which part(s) of testsuite's checkit() failed.

8 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

8 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

8 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

8 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

8 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

8 years agoSet NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 16:54:11 +0000 (08:54 -0800)]
Set NO_SYMLINK_XATTRS on linux the easy way.
Fixes bug 7109.

8 years agoFix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:48:07 +0000 (08:48 -0800)]
Fix issues with unchanged_attrs() for symlinks.

8 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

8 years agoEnhance --chmod to allow octal values.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 05:38:23 +0000 (21:38 -0800)]
Enhance --chmod to allow octal values.

8 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 17:35:43 +0000 (09:35 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.

8 years agoA couple comment tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 20 Nov 2010 17:30:35 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
A couple comment tweaks.

8 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 9 Nov 2010 07:22:33 +0000 (23:22 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

8 years agoUse ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 16:57:23 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Use ftruncate() at the end of a --sparse file.
Fixes bug 7337.

8 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Nov 2010 15:14:18 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

8 years agoAdd @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 12 Oct 2010 15:05:43 +0000 (08:05 -0700)]
Add @group auth and overrides to "auth user" daemon config.

8 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

8 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

8 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

8 years agoUndo unintended mode-reference tweak.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 29 Aug 2010 01:02:22 +0000 (18:02 -0700)]
Undo unintended mode-reference tweak.

8 years agoFix description of how to force new prototype generation.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 14:44:17 +0000 (07:44 -0700)]
Fix description of how to force new prototype generation.

8 years agoMove time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:24:37 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Move time setting to syscall.c and add syscall fallback.
See bug 5506 and bug 7621.

8 years agoMake case_N.h more generic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 17:13:04 +0000 (10:13 -0700)]
Make case_N.h more generic.

8 years agoAdd --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:50:05 +0000 (08:50 -0700)]
Add --omit-link-times and use CAN_SET_SYMLINK_TIMES less.

8 years agoMention need of wildcard support in make.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:27:20 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Mention need of wildcard support in make.
See bug 7625.

8 years agoRemove duplication for -x option.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 14:58:22 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Remove duplication for -x option.

8 years agoAdd some new dont-compress suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:41:53 +0000 (14:41 -0700)]
Add some new dont-compress suffixes.
As suggested in bug 6839.

8 years agoAvoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 21:25:48 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Avoid a crash with --append-verify when discarding the received data.
Fixes bug 6293.

8 years agoAvoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 20:59:33 +0000 (13:59 -0700)]
Avoid a non-writable-by-the-user file when copying xattrs.
Fixes part of the problem in bug 5147.

8 years agoAvoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 18:26:21 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Avoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Fixes bug 4664.

9 years agoDon't mention bug fixes that are queued up for 3.0.8.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:57:28 +0000 (08:57 -0700)]
Don't mention bug fixes that are queued up for 3.0.8.

9 years agoRefer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:14:02 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Refer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.

9 years agoReplace another assert with a descriptive error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 22:50:07 +0000 (15:50 -0700)]
Replace another assert with a descriptive error.

9 years agoI like braces when multiple lines are indented.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:26:45 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
I like braces when multiple lines are indented.

9 years agoOlder protocols should send 1-incremented dev numbers.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:20:16 +0000 (11:20 -0700)]
Older protocols should send 1-incremented dev numbers.

9 years agoMention more changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:59:30 +0000 (10:59 -0700)]
Mention more changes.

9 years agoMore manpage improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:52:04 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
More manpage improvements.

9 years agoMention more output changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:01:24 +0000 (10:01 -0700)]
Mention more output changes.

9 years agoManpage improvements for --stats, --human-readable, and --list-only.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:01:13 +0000 (10:01 -0700)]
Manpage improvements for --stats, --human-readable, and --list-only.

9 years agoOutput list-only sizes using any human-readable setting.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:00:29 +0000 (10:00 -0700)]
Output list-only sizes using any human-readable setting.

9 years agoFix accessors F_LENGTH() and F_MOD_NSEC().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 15:54:57 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
Fix accessors F_LENGTH() and F_MOD_NSEC().

9 years agoClose the socket fds in the "post-xfer exec" process.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 17:49:43 +0000 (10:49 -0700)]
Close the socket fds in the "post-xfer exec" process.

9 years agoGet rid of some trailing whitespace.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 17:49:09 +0000 (10:49 -0700)]
Get rid of some trailing whitespace.

9 years agoFix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:47:00 +0000 (09:47 -0700)]
Fix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Fixes bug 7512.

9 years agoFix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:29:42 +0000 (09:29 -0700)]
Fix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).

9 years agoFix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Jun 2010 06:09:20 +0000 (23:09 -0700)]
Fix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).

9 years agoAvoid a double-increment of a file's st_dev value
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 17:57:02 +0000 (10:57 -0700)]
Avoid a double-increment of a file's st_dev value
while supporting older rsyncs that send dev == 0.

9 years agoMake sure our idev_find() hashtable use is right.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 16:18:04 +0000 (09:18 -0700)]
Make sure our idev_find() hashtable use is right.

9 years agoMake sure we never try to store a 0 key and tweak key64 init.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 16:17:27 +0000 (09:17 -0700)]
Make sure we never try to store a 0 key and tweak key64 init.

9 years agoTurn an assert into two more descriptive errors.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 15:52:59 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Turn an assert into two more descriptive errors.

9 years agoMention --debug=hlink's level limits.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 29 May 2010 15:52:26 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Mention --debug=hlink's level limits.

9 years agoUpdate rrsync with the latest options.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 26 May 2010 18:24:00 +0000 (11:24 -0700)]
Update rrsync with the latest options.

9 years agoMake an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 May 2010 00:05:07 +0000 (17:05 -0700)]
Make an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.

9 years agoMay as well use do_mkdir() directly these days.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 30 Apr 2010 19:58:17 +0000 (12:58 -0700)]
May as well use do_mkdir() directly these days.

9 years agoReject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 17:00:38 +0000 (10:00 -0700)]
Reject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).

Based on a patch by Matt, but further tweaked to deal with -q=foo.

Ultimately this should be upstreamed, but for now lets get this
functionality into rsync.

9 years agoMan page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:08:28 +0000 (01:08 -0400)]
Man page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.

9 years agoMinor restructuring/clarification to get_backup_name.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:03:32 +0000 (01:03 -0400)]
Minor restructuring/clarification to get_backup_name.
(Tweaked by Wayne to follow his preferred style.)

9 years agoIn "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:53:42 +0000 (00:53 -0400)]
In "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.

Rsync was showing the full destination path, which was confusing because
nothing is created at that path and was especially bogus in combination
with the source name of a solo file.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=506830

9 years agoPoint out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 10 Feb 2010 03:13:28 +0000 (22:13 -0500)]
Point out that the file_struct in log_delete is zero-initialized
because it is static.

It took me long enough to realize this that I think it is worth
documenting.