rsync.git
4 days agoAdd some comments about protocol versions. master
Wayne Davison [Fri, 7 Aug 2020 23:20:48 +0000 (16:20 -0700)]
Add some comments about protocol versions.

5 days agoSimplify where version.h is included.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 7 Aug 2020 04:10:46 +0000 (21:10 -0700)]
Simplify where version.h is included.

5 days agoPreparing for release of 3.2.3 v3.2.3
Wayne Davison [Fri, 7 Aug 2020 03:57:26 +0000 (20:57 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.2.3

6 days agoTweak a comment.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 6 Aug 2020 04:32:44 +0000 (21:32 -0700)]
Tweak a comment.

8 days agoChange fetch depth.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 21:47:38 +0000 (14:47 -0700)]
Change fetch depth.

8 days agoDon't use --always to ensure a tag is in gitver.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 21:25:43 +0000 (14:25 -0700)]
Don't use --always to ensure a tag is in gitver.

8 days agoAvoid a build fail when git isn't installed.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 21:19:13 +0000 (14:19 -0700)]
Avoid a build fail when git isn't installed.

8 days agoMake my_alloc(NULL) use malloc instead of calloc.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 21:01:18 +0000 (14:01 -0700)]
Make my_alloc(NULL) use malloc instead of calloc.

8 days agoUse touch for proto.h-tstamp since one awk wasn't updating mtime.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 20:31:56 +0000 (13:31 -0700)]
Use touch for proto.h-tstamp since one awk wasn't updating mtime.

8 days agoMove SUPPORT_ATIMES to rsync.h.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 20:27:00 +0000 (13:27 -0700)]
Move SUPPORT_ATIMES to rsync.h.

8 days agoCreate usage.c for smaller awk-dep rebuilds.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 18:33:32 +0000 (11:33 -0700)]
Create usage.c for smaller awk-dep rebuilds.

8 days agoUse RSYNC_GITVER in more output
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 17:42:08 +0000 (10:42 -0700)]
Use RSYNC_GITVER in more output

8 days agoA couple more mkgitver tweaks
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Aug 2020 17:23:43 +0000 (10:23 -0700)]
A couple more mkgitver tweaks

- Support git worktree checkouts (has non-dir .git)
- Use --always for someone who may be missing a tag.

11 days agoUse --abbrev=8 instead of --tags.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Aug 2020 07:41:53 +0000 (00:41 -0700)]
Use --abbrev=8 instead of --tags.

11 days agoPut git version in a file for between-release versioning.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Aug 2020 07:15:06 +0000 (00:15 -0700)]
Put git version in a file for between-release versioning.

12 days agoDon't make .PHONY the first target in a Makefile.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 31 Jul 2020 01:58:34 +0000 (18:58 -0700)]
Don't make .PHONY the first target in a Makefile.

12 days agoMake configure less annoying
Wayne Davison [Fri, 31 Jul 2020 01:30:51 +0000 (18:30 -0700)]
Make configure less annoying

- Improve configure's notifications around the new features.
- Improve the info about man page generation and fetching.

13 days agoSome Makefile improvements.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 29 Jul 2020 18:51:55 +0000 (11:51 -0700)]
Some Makefile improvements.

- Improve distclean.
- Remove proto.h from GENFILES (we don't need to distribute it).
- Improve finddead target.

13 days agoTweak a comment.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 29 Jul 2020 18:50:00 +0000 (11:50 -0700)]
Tweak a comment.

13 days agoINSTALL changes, including some Fedora packages.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 29 Jul 2020 18:22:23 +0000 (11:22 -0700)]
INSTALL changes, including some Fedora packages.

2 weeks agoPreparing for release of 3.2.3pre1 v3.2.3pre1
Wayne Davison [Tue, 28 Jul 2020 00:56:25 +0000 (17:56 -0700)]
Preparing for release of 3.2.3pre1

2 weeks agoNeed 3.2.3 line in table & tweak to release script.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 28 Jul 2020 00:49:28 +0000 (17:49 -0700)]
Need 3.2.3 line in table & tweak to release script.

2 weeks agoA couple more NEWS updates.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 23:50:47 +0000 (16:50 -0700)]
A couple more NEWS updates.

2 weeks agoSet LANG to C to help with some remote build hosts.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 23:48:48 +0000 (16:48 -0700)]
Set LANG to C to help with some remote build hosts.

2 weeks agoUse linkat() if available
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 23:36:55 +0000 (16:36 -0700)]
Use linkat() if available

Some OSes have a more capable linkat() function that can hard-link
syslinks, so use linkat() when it is available.

2 weeks agoAdd a few more skip-compress suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 22:56:48 +0000 (15:56 -0700)]
Add a few more skip-compress suffixes.

2 weeks agoMake the `--append*` options have more warnings.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 22:05:11 +0000 (15:05 -0700)]
Make the `--append*` options have more warnings.

2 weeks agoDon't allow a completely empty source arg.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 21:42:21 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Don't allow a completely empty source arg.

2 weeks agoMention an implied option.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 20:49:19 +0000 (13:49 -0700)]
Mention an implied option.

2 weeks agoReplace a couple calloc() calls with new_array0().
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Jul 2020 06:30:50 +0000 (23:30 -0700)]
Replace a couple calloc() calls with new_array0().

2 weeks agoComplain about a missing/non-dir `--temp-dir`.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jul 2020 08:56:30 +0000 (01:56 -0700)]
Complain about a missing/non-dir `--temp-dir`.

2 weeks agoDon't include config.h in proto.h rule.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jul 2020 08:40:55 +0000 (01:40 -0700)]
Don't include config.h in proto.h rule.

2 weeks agoMention awk/gawk/nawk dependency.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jul 2020 08:40:43 +0000 (01:40 -0700)]
Mention awk/gawk/nawk dependency.

2 weeks agoMention `--protect-args` in `--chown` info.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jul 2020 07:59:51 +0000 (00:59 -0700)]
Mention `--protect-args` in `--chown` info.

2 weeks agoFix issue where rdev major could get out of sync
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Jul 2020 06:28:44 +0000 (23:28 -0700)]
Fix issue where rdev major could get out of sync

If the receiving side read a hard-linked device, it needs to set the
value of rdev_major to the value it snags from the hard-linked data
because the sender set their rdev_major value for that file entry.

2 weeks agoHave release script use patch-update --make (not --shell)
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 17:52:49 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
Have release script use patch-update --make (not --shell)

2 weeks agoFix a grammar error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 17:40:46 +0000 (10:40 -0700)]
Fix a grammar error.

2 weeks agoMore spelling fixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 17:34:26 +0000 (10:34 -0700)]
More spelling fixes.

2 weeks agoFix some spelling errors.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 17:21:50 +0000 (10:21 -0700)]
Fix some spelling errors.

2 weeks agoChange new stderr options to `--stderr=MODE`.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 16:37:17 +0000 (09:37 -0700)]
Change new stderr options to `--stderr=MODE`.

2 weeks agoChange daemon variable & simplify some option code
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 16:15:41 +0000 (09:15 -0700)]
Change daemon variable & simplify some option code

- Rename daemon_over_rsh -> daemon_connection since it is also used to
  indicate if a non-rsh daemon connection is active.
- Move the daemon-over-rsh exception out of server_options() to the one
  caller that needs that behavior.
- Don't allow noop_io_until_death() to be short-circuited when talking
  to a daemon over a socket, because it can't send errors via stderr.

2 weeks agoTweak NEWS & src_file().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 06:30:32 +0000 (23:30 -0700)]
Tweak NEWS & src_file().

2 weeks agoAdd `--errors2stderr` & `--msgs2protocol` options.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 02:17:55 +0000 (19:17 -0700)]
Add `--errors2stderr` & `--msgs2protocol` options.

2 weeks agoHandle the first run of configure; prefer gmake.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 00:31:54 +0000 (17:31 -0700)]
Handle the first run of configure; prefer gmake.

2 weeks agoChange smart-rebuild to smart-make.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 25 Jul 2020 00:20:45 +0000 (17:20 -0700)]
Change smart-rebuild to smart-make.

2 weeks agoFix the setting of $make.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 23:49:55 +0000 (16:49 -0700)]
Fix the setting of $make.

2 weeks agoAdd helper script for a smart rebuild.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 21:04:02 +0000 (14:04 -0700)]
Add helper script for a smart rebuild.

2 weeks agoLink to the git blob for source files.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 19:47:35 +0000 (12:47 -0700)]
Link to the git blob for source files.

2 weeks agoMore changes to NEWS, README, INSTALL, & configure.ac
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 18:53:16 +0000 (11:53 -0700)]
More changes to NEWS, README, INSTALL, & configure.ac

2 weeks agoEnable xattrs on Cygwin.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 18:38:14 +0000 (11:38 -0700)]
Enable xattrs on Cygwin.

- Tweak configure.ac to have Cygwin use linux xattrs.
- Change CI setup to install attr packages on Cygwin.

[buildall]

2 weeks agoAdd Cygwin package info into INSTALL.md.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 18:37:50 +0000 (11:37 -0700)]
Add Cygwin package info into INSTALL.md.

2 weeks agoFix devices-fake test if rsync can't link specials
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 18:33:21 +0000 (11:33 -0700)]
Fix devices-fake test if rsync can't link specials

- Add info about hardlinked specials to --version output.
- Use "no hardlink-special" info to ensure that the devices-fake
  test will not fail.

2 weeks agoInstall python3 for cygwin [buildall]
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 17:10:26 +0000 (10:10 -0700)]
Install python3 for cygwin [buildall]

2 weeks agoInstall python36 for cygwin [buildall]
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 16:57:41 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
Install python36 for cygwin [buildall]

2 weeks agoChange the --mkpath message.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 16:45:47 +0000 (09:45 -0700)]
Change the --mkpath message.

2 weeks agoSome INSTALL improvements.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 16:42:49 +0000 (09:42 -0700)]
Some INSTALL improvements.

2 weeks agoAdd --mkpath option. Fixes bugzilla bug 4621.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 03:46:51 +0000 (20:46 -0700)]
Add --mkpath option. Fixes bugzilla bug 4621.

2 weeks agoAdd packages to INSTALL.md; put INSTALL.md on ftp site
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 00:29:13 +0000 (17:29 -0700)]
Add packages to INSTALL.md; put INSTALL.md on ftp site

2 weeks agoSimplify md_parser assignment.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 24 Jul 2020 00:28:34 +0000 (17:28 -0700)]
Simplify md_parser assignment.

2 weeks agoFix multi-line code blocks.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 23:20:07 +0000 (16:20 -0700)]
Fix multi-line code blocks.

2 weeks agoTweak ubuntu configure args.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 19:32:41 +0000 (12:32 -0700)]
Tweak ubuntu configure args.

2 weeks agoSetup commonmark on Cygwin.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 19:20:40 +0000 (12:20 -0700)]
Setup commonmark on Cygwin.

2 weeks agoSimplify the msgs2stderr default logic.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 19:14:07 +0000 (12:14 -0700)]
Simplify the msgs2stderr default logic.

2 weeks agoImprove error output for local & remote-shell xfers
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 17:36:49 +0000 (10:36 -0700)]
Improve error output for local & remote-shell xfers

2 weeks agoDrop a superfluous "+".
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 04:42:24 +0000 (21:42 -0700)]
Drop a superfluous "+".

2 weeks agoA few more build improvements
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Jul 2020 04:01:01 +0000 (21:01 -0700)]
A few more build improvements

Includes Ben's RSYNC_MAX_SKIPPED=3 suggestion for FreeBSD and a fix for
the artifact file list for Cygwin.

2 weeks agoAdd --crtimes option.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 19:12:18 +0000 (12:12 -0700)]
Add --crtimes option.

2 weeks agoImprove --itemize-changes doc.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 18:26:02 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Improve --itemize-changes doc.

2 weeks agoSwitch to RSYNC_MAX_SKIPPED test setting.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 17:59:15 +0000 (10:59 -0700)]
Switch to RSYNC_MAX_SKIPPED test setting.

3 weeks agoUpdate NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 19:35:45 +0000 (12:35 -0700)]
Update NEWS.

3 weeks agoAvoid some extraneous parent-dir warnings
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 18:42:32 +0000 (11:42 -0700)]
Avoid some extraneous parent-dir warnings

Don't complain about an absent parent dir if the current file is marked
as missing and there is a marked-as-missing entry for the parent dir.

3 weeks agoDon't create a path for a file marked as missing.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 18:22:24 +0000 (11:22 -0700)]
Don't create a path for a file marked as missing.

3 weeks agoTweak include syntax.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Jul 2020 01:44:37 +0000 (18:44 -0700)]
Tweak include syntax.

3 weeks agoSave the build into an artifact.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Jul 2020 21:43:28 +0000 (14:43 -0700)]
Save the build into an artifact.

3 weeks agoIgnore *.exe files (for Cygwin builds).
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Jul 2020 21:43:06 +0000 (14:43 -0700)]
Ignore *.exe files (for Cygwin builds).

3 weeks agoUse just $(...) instead of a mix of that and ${...}.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Jul 2020 21:42:13 +0000 (14:42 -0700)]
Use just $(...) instead of a mix of that and ${...}.

3 weeks agoMake the daily build happen a few hours later.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Jul 2020 06:17:25 +0000 (23:17 -0700)]
Make the daily build happen a few hours later.

3 weeks agoAdd strict (no-skipping) checks and use them.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 18:18:35 +0000 (11:18 -0700)]
Add strict (no-skipping) checks and use them.

3 weeks agoA couple minor changes.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 17:56:22 +0000 (10:56 -0700)]
A couple minor changes.

3 weeks agoAdd the `name converter` daemon parameter.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 17:22:27 +0000 (10:22 -0700)]
Add the `name converter` daemon parameter.

This is based on the long-standing patch but with the protocol changed
to just use newlines as delimiters instead of null chars (since names
should not contain a newline AND it makes it easier to write a helper
script).  Lots of other small improvements and a better default value
for "numeric ids" when using "use chroot" with "name converter".

3 weeks agoRun a daily build.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Jul 2020 05:04:06 +0000 (22:04 -0700)]
Run a daily build.

3 weeks agoLet's try cygwin again. (#69)
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 21:30:22 +0000 (14:30 -0700)]
Let's try cygwin again. (#69)

Setup an optional cygwin build that is currently triggered when a [buildall] is in the commit message (the build is currently quite slow).

3 weeks agoGitHub artifact test didn't work.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 20:53:40 +0000 (13:53 -0700)]
GitHub artifact test didn't work.

3 weeks agoTweak the save path.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 20:42:36 +0000 (13:42 -0700)]
Tweak the save path.

3 weeks agoAvoid normal build on cygwin-save change.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 20:20:40 +0000 (13:20 -0700)]
Avoid normal build on cygwin-save change.

3 weeks agoTry to get cygwin-save to run.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 20:16:36 +0000 (13:16 -0700)]
Try to get cygwin-save to run.

3 weeks agoTry to save cygwin install in an artifact.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 19:31:38 +0000 (12:31 -0700)]
Try to save cygwin install in an artifact.

3 weeks agoForce git line endings (#68)
Ben RUBSON [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 17:20:52 +0000 (19:20 +0200)]
Force git line endings (#68)

4 weeks agoTweak the workflows filename.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 04:47:50 +0000 (21:47 -0700)]
Tweak the workflows filename.

4 weeks agoDisable cygwin for now.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 04:47:11 +0000 (21:47 -0700)]
Disable cygwin for now.

4 weeks agoTry a couple different way to fix the build.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 04:32:41 +0000 (21:32 -0700)]
Try a couple different way to fix the build.

4 weeks agoTry Cygwin build in actions.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 04:18:52 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Try Cygwin build in actions.

4 weeks agoLet's try a Cygwin build on Cirrus.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 03:41:44 +0000 (20:41 -0700)]
Let's try a Cygwin build on Cirrus.

4 weeks agoMention the auto-build-save setup.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 15 Jul 2020 03:01:54 +0000 (20:01 -0700)]
Mention the auto-build-save setup.

4 weeks agoEnable FreeBSD CI ssl (#66)
Ben RUBSON [Tue, 14 Jul 2020 20:22:55 +0000 (22:22 +0200)]
Enable FreeBSD CI ssl (#66)

4 weeks agoReduce the installed pkg items since they are so slow.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 23:26:58 +0000 (16:26 -0700)]
Reduce the installed pkg items since they are so slow.

4 weeks agoA few more NEWS & man tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 23:07:46 +0000 (16:07 -0700)]
A few more NEWS & man tweaks.

4 weeks agoTry using cmarkgfm.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 22:44:43 +0000 (15:44 -0700)]
Try using cmarkgfm.

4 weeks agoAvoid a failed test on Cygwin.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 22:33:07 +0000 (15:33 -0700)]
Avoid a failed test on Cygwin.

4 weeks agoSearch for cmark.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 13 Jul 2020 21:09:24 +0000 (14:09 -0700)]
Search for cmark.