Mention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.
authorWayne Davison <wayned@samba.org>
Sat, 6 Feb 2010 21:32:47 +0000 (13:32 -0800)
committerWayne Davison <wayned@samba.org>
Sat, 3 Jul 2010 16:22:13 +0000 (09:22 -0700)
rsync.yo

index f0ea848eab0925b883155a5939d85072c92e3fd7..031e9825c0aabd4fa888d9c93afc84f81789690c 100644 (file)
--- a/rsync.yo
+++ b/rsync.yo
@@ -978,6 +978,10 @@ super-user copies all namespaces except system.*.  A normal user only copies
 the user.* namespace.  To be able to backup and restore non-user namespaces as
 a normal user, see the bf(--fake-super) option.
 
+Note that this option does not copy rsyncs special xattr values (e.g. those
+used by bf(--fake-super)) unless you repeat the option (e.g. -XX).  This
+"copy all xattrs" mode cannot be used with bf(--fake-super).
+
 dit(bf(--chmod)) This option tells rsync to apply one or more
 comma-separated "chmod" strings to the permission of the files in the
 transfer.  The resulting value is treated as though it were the permissions