add section about persistent handles, and summary
authorMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Wed, 20 Apr 2016 03:57:37 +0000 (05:57 +0200)
committerMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Wed, 20 Apr 2016 04:03:58 +0000 (06:03 +0200)
Makefile
content.wiki
next.wiki [new file with mode: 0644]
persistent.wiki [new file with mode: 0644]

index ff19306..9fa3d15 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -54,6 +54,8 @@ EXTRA_WIKI_FILES = \
                   multichannel.wiki \
                   smb-direct.wiki \
                   witness.wiki \
+                  persistent.wiki \
+                  next.wiki \
                   thanks.wiki
 
 
index 975627b..f58c1b7 100644 (file)
@@ -27,4 +27,8 @@
 
 >>>witness.wiki<<<
 
+>>>persistent.wiki<<<
+
+>>>next.wiki<<<
+
 >>>thanks.wiki<<<
diff --git a/next.wiki b/next.wiki
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..fd4654e
--- /dev/null
+++ b/next.wiki
@@ -0,0 +1,10 @@
+==== What's next ? ====
+
+* SMB3 Multichannel: finishing moves
+* SMB3 Witness service: async RPC
+* SMB3 Persistent Handles / CA
+* SMB Direct (SMB3 over RDMA)
+* Multi-Protocol access (NFS, SMB...)
+* SMB2+ Unix Extensions
+
+[frame]>
diff --git a/persistent.wiki b/persistent.wiki
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..41a35a6
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,30 @@
+<[sambabg]
+
+==== ====[plain]
+
+<[center]
+\Large
+'''Outlook: persistent handles'''
+[center]>
+
+[frame]>
+[sambabg]>
+
+==== Persistent File Handles ====
+
+* available on 'Continuously Available' SMB3 shares
+* allows disconnected clients to reconnect
+* like durable handles, but with strong guarantees!
+
+==== Persistent Handles : Challenges ====
+
+* protocol is easy
+* persistence/guarantees are hard
+* strategies:
+** filesystem spcific
+** generic, with tdb extensions
+
+
+
+[frame]>
+