winbindd: Remove a misleading comment
authorVolker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Fri, 27 Oct 2017 12:01:41 +0000 (14:01 +0200)
committerJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Fri, 27 Oct 2017 22:31:58 +0000 (00:31 +0200)
The reality is a bit more complex than this comment indicates. We should never
suggest anywhere that we can connect to domains that we don't have a direct
trust account to. For the member case, it's "our" domain, and for the DC case,
it's the direct trusts. Everything else is pure luck.

Signed-off-by: Volker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Sat Oct 28 00:31:58 CEST 2017 on sn-devel-144

source3/winbindd/winbindd_cache.c

index 93501e4073b13ed3dca1c5d38a4dac00246e92e7..faea764cb5d3475c8a91d4cc42b1eed9b8a942ee 100644 (file)
@@ -147,24 +147,6 @@ static struct winbind_cache *get_cache(struct winbindd_domain *domain)
                init_dc_connection(domain, false);
        }
 
                init_dc_connection(domain, false);
        }
 
-       /*
-          OK.  Listen up because I'm only going to say this once.
-          We have the following scenarios to consider
-          (a) trusted AD domains on a Samba DC,
-          (b) trusted AD domains and we are joined to a non-kerberos domain
-          (c) trusted AD domains and we are joined to a kerberos (AD) domain
-
-          For (a) we can always contact the trusted domain using krb5
-          since we have the domain trust account password
-
-          For (b) we can only use RPC since we have no way of
-          getting a krb5 ticket in our own domain
-
-          For (c) we can always use krb5 since we have a kerberos trust
-
-          --jerry
-        */
-
 #ifdef HAVE_ADS
        if (domain->backend == NULL) {
                struct winbindd_domain *our_domain = domain;
 #ifdef HAVE_ADS
        if (domain->backend == NULL) {
                struct winbindd_domain *our_domain = domain;