build: Add explicit mention of --abi-check-disable to ABI checker
authorAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Tue, 15 May 2012 13:03:31 +0000 (23:03 +1000)
committerAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Tue, 15 May 2012 23:53:42 +0000 (01:53 +0200)
This information has always been in the linked wiki page, but put it
in the build to unblock developers using platforms with slightly
different GDB output.

We can also assist this by improving the string normalisiation in the
ABI checker when example errors are provided.

It is better to build with the waf build and the full testsuite than
to avoid the waf build or not to use the developer options simply to
skip the ABI checker.

Andrew Bartlett

Autobuild-User: Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date: Wed May 16 01:53:42 CEST 2012 on sn-devel-104

buildtools/wafsamba/samba_abi.py

index c51e08c290e109a80a1c00e69fe4f93925020ded..2966d7c1bf8a31e0cae027cbf1b02fbcb1cff9ba 100644 (file)
@@ -109,7 +109,7 @@ def abi_check_task(self):
             got_error = True
 
     if got_error:
-        raise Utils.WafError('ABI for %s has changed - please fix library version then build with --abi-update\nSee http://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Waf#ABI_Checking for more information' % libname)
+        raise Utils.WafError('ABI for %s has changed - please fix library version then build with --abi-update\nSee http://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Waf#ABI_Checking for more information\nIf you have not changed any ABI, and your platform always gives this error, please configure with --abi-check-disable to skip this check' % libname)
 
 
 t = Task.task_type_from_func('abi_check', abi_check_task, color='BLUE', ext_in='.bin')