WHATSNEW: Mention SMB 2.1 support (reauthentication/mulit-credit) and config default
authorMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 10:14:46 +0000 (12:14 +0200)
committerMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 11:24:13 +0000 (13:24 +0200)
WHATSNEW.txt

index ed835d8..710f6bd 100644 (file)
@@ -105,6 +105,14 @@ $ git log samba-4.0.0beta2..samba-4.0.0beta3
 
 Some major user-visible changes include:
 
+Samba now includes support for version 2.1 of the SMB protocol,
+the SMB2 version of Windows 7 and 2008R2, including dynamic
+reauthentication and support for multi-credit (large MTU).
+Consequently, Samba negotiates SMB 2.1 by default: The value "SMB2"
+for the configuration parameter "max protocol" has been changed to
+be an alias for SMB 2.1. Previously, the default SMB2 version of
+Samba was the original version 2.0 of SMB that was shipped with
+Windows Vista and 2008.
 
 
 KNOWN ISSUES