WHATSNEW: Document "strict sync" default change.
authorJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 16:06:27 +0000 (09:06 -0700)
committerJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Sat, 25 Mar 2017 03:41:19 +0000 (04:41 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Christof Schmitt <cs@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Sat Mar 25 04:41:19 CET 2017 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index dd60cd2..cda61ef 100644 (file)
@@ -16,12 +16,18 @@ UPGRADING
 NEW FEATURES/CHANGES
 ====================
 
+The "strict sync" global parameter has been changed from
+a default of "no" to "yes". This means smbd will by default
+obey client requests to synchronize unwritten data in operating
+system buffers safely onto disk. This is a safer default setting
+for modern SMB1/2/3 clients.
 
 smb.conf changes
 ================
 
   Parameter Name                Description             Default
   --------------                -----------             -------
+  strict sync                  Default changed         yes
 
 
 KNOWN ISSUES