kai/samba.git
10 years agos4-waf: cleaned up tevent dependency
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 06:08:13 +0000 (17:08 +1100)]
s4-waf: cleaned up tevent dependency

10 years agos4-waf: cleanup use of LIBPOPT vs popt dependency
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 06:05:30 +0000 (17:05 +1100)]
s4-waf: cleanup use of LIBPOPT vs popt dependency

10 years agos4-waf: support the use of system libraries
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 05:38:27 +0000 (16:38 +1100)]
s4-waf: support the use of system libraries

distros can set --bundled-libraries=NONE to force use of all system
libraries. If the right version isn't found then configure will fail.

Users may choose which libraries to use from the system, and which to
use bundled libs. The default is to try system libs, and use them if
their version matches the one in the source tree.

10 years agos4-waf: we need a recent version of perls MakeMaker module
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 04:51:57 +0000 (15:51 +1100)]
s4-waf: we need a recent version of perls MakeMaker module

10 years agos4-waf: fixed some deps now we don't auto-include tevent and replace
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 04:43:26 +0000 (15:43 +1100)]
s4-waf: fixed some deps now we don't auto-include tevent and replace

this is preparation for being able to use system versions of these
libraries

10 years agos4-waf: set default for bundled libraries
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 04:42:28 +0000 (15:42 +1100)]
s4-waf: set default for bundled libraries

10 years agobuild: better control over bundled library extensions
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 04:41:49 +0000 (15:41 +1100)]
build: better control over bundled library extensions

10 years agobuild: better waf test script
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 04:39:16 +0000 (15:39 +1100)]
build: better waf test script

10 years agos4-waf: don't auto-include bundled library headers
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 03:16:12 +0000 (14:16 +1100)]
s4-waf: don't auto-include bundled library headers

If we are going to use the system versions of these libraries then
we should not force the use of the non-system headers

10 years agos4-waf: set the bundled library extension for some libs
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 03:10:15 +0000 (14:10 +1100)]
s4-waf: set the bundled library extension for some libs

10 years agobuild: added support for controlling library types
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 03:09:36 +0000 (14:09 +1100)]
build: added support for controlling library types

added:
 --bundled-library-extension   : control library extension for bundled libraries
 --builtin-libraries           : force a list of libraries to be builtin (non-shared)

10 years agoldb-waf: rename libldb.so to libldb-s4.so if built as part of s4
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 02:01:36 +0000 (13:01 +1100)]
ldb-waf: rename libldb.so to libldb-s4.so if built as part of s4

Also include the ldap backend if not built as part of s4. In s4, we
use the ldapi backend.

10 years agobuild: add an ls -lR blib/ to the pidl build to help debug things in the build farm
Andrew Tridgell [Sun, 28 Mar 2010 01:45:46 +0000 (12:45 +1100)]
build: add an ls -lR blib/ to the pidl build to help debug things in the build farm

10 years agobuild: fixed build group for the PIDL tables generation
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 23:00:53 +0000 (10:00 +1100)]
build: fixed build group for the PIDL tables generation

10 years agos4-waf: mark the wscript files as python so vim/emacs knows how to highlight them
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 22:48:49 +0000 (09:48 +1100)]
s4-waf: mark the wscript files as python so vim/emacs knows how to highlight them

10 years agobuild: mark python rules as being part of the "main" group
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 22:45:06 +0000 (09:45 +1100)]
build: mark python rules as being part of the "main" group

10 years agos4-waf: ensure all the ldb.pc.in vars are set
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 10:29:42 +0000 (21:29 +1100)]
s4-waf: ensure all the ldb.pc.in vars are set

10 years agobuild: throw an error on all bad variable substitutions
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 10:29:18 +0000 (21:29 +1100)]
build: throw an error on all bad variable substitutions

10 years agos4-waf: move the gnu dirs check to the generic wafsamba code
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 10:28:59 +0000 (21:28 +1100)]
s4-waf: move the gnu dirs check to the generic wafsamba code

10 years agobuild: substitute @VAR@ variables in pkgconfig .pc.in files
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 09:00:01 +0000 (20:00 +1100)]
build: substitute @VAR@ variables in pkgconfig .pc.in files

10 years agobuild: fixed the python path in installed python scripts
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 08:12:10 +0000 (19:12 +1100)]
build: fixed the python path in installed python scripts

10 years agos4-waf: install dcerpc_atsvc.pc
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:25:40 +0000 (18:25 +1100)]
s4-waf: install dcerpc_atsvc.pc

10 years agobuild: fixed destination name for pc_files
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:25:20 +0000 (18:25 +1100)]
build: fixed destination name for pc_files

10 years agos4-waf: enable the configuration and options for pidl
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:14:50 +0000 (18:14 +1100)]
s4-waf: enable the configuration and options for pidl

10 years agos4-waf: enable the pc_files in the build rules
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:14:33 +0000 (18:14 +1100)]
s4-waf: enable the pc_files in the build rules

10 years agobuild: added support for pc_files= for pkgconfig files
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:14:06 +0000 (18:14 +1100)]
build: added support for pc_files= for pkgconfig files

10 years agos4-waf: only build the pidl manpages if we have MakeMaker.pm
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 07:13:44 +0000 (18:13 +1100)]
s4-waf: only build the pidl manpages if we have MakeMaker.pm

10 years agos4-waf: build and install the PIDL manpages
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 05:48:03 +0000 (16:48 +1100)]
s4-waf: build and install the PIDL manpages

10 years agobuild: a hack to get perl to put its generated blib files in the build directory
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 05:47:43 +0000 (16:47 +1100)]
build: a hack to get perl to put its generated blib files in the build directory

perl wants to put generated files in the source directory, whereas waf wants
them in the build directory. Use a symlink to trick perl into putting them
in the right place

10 years agobuild: only depend on the actual pidl source files in the pidl rule
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 05:46:33 +0000 (16:46 +1100)]
build: only depend on the actual pidl source files in the pidl rule

We don't need to depend on the wscript files, or any backup editor
files.

10 years agos4-waf: install PIDL modules
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 04:24:00 +0000 (15:24 +1100)]
s4-waf: install PIDL modules

10 years agos4-waf: install the rest of our python files
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 04:12:56 +0000 (15:12 +1100)]
s4-waf: install the rest of our python files

10 years agobuild: support wildcard excludes in INSTALL_WILDCARD()
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 04:12:40 +0000 (15:12 +1100)]
build: support wildcard excludes in INSTALL_WILDCARD()

10 years agobuild: install build python modules correctly
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 03:50:43 +0000 (14:50 +1100)]
build: install build python modules correctly

10 years agos4-waf: install pidl
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 03:00:56 +0000 (14:00 +1100)]
s4-waf: install pidl

10 years agos4-waf: install the rest of the headers
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 02:56:05 +0000 (13:56 +1100)]
s4-waf: install the rest of the headers

10 years agobuild: support wildcard mappings for header_path
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 02:55:38 +0000 (13:55 +1100)]
build: support wildcard mappings for header_path

this allows a public_headers attribute to put different headers in
different install directories

10 years agos4-waf: set CONFIG_H variable for selftest
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 01:44:36 +0000 (12:44 +1100)]
s4-waf: set CONFIG_H variable for selftest

10 years agos4-waf: test/simple.c is not needed any more
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 01:29:44 +0000 (12:29 +1100)]
s4-waf: test/simple.c is not needed any more

10 years agos4-waf: forgot these files
Andrew Tridgell [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 00:04:19 +0000 (11:04 +1100)]
s4-waf: forgot these files

10 years agos4-waf: started adding auto-install of include files
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 22:46:50 +0000 (09:46 +1100)]
s4-waf: started adding auto-install of include files

10 years agobuild: fixed EXPAND_VARIABLES() for env expansion
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 22:46:27 +0000 (09:46 +1100)]
build: fixed EXPAND_VARIABLES() for env expansion

10 years agobuild: these chdir() calls break waf on HPUX. They are not needed
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 22:46:07 +0000 (09:46 +1100)]
build: these chdir() calls break waf on HPUX. They are not needed

10 years agos3-waf: added options for static/shared module building
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 07:42:37 +0000 (01:42 -0600)]
s3-waf: added options for static/shared module building

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai Blin <kai@samba.org>

10 years agos3-waf: build version.h
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 07:05:54 +0000 (01:05 -0600)]
s3-waf: build version.h

10 years agos3-waf: charsets needs to be quoted as strings in config.h
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 07:05:37 +0000 (01:05 -0600)]
s3-waf: charsets needs to be quoted as strings in config.h

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai Blin <kai@samba.org>

10 years agobuild: added quote option to conf.DEFINE()
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 07:05:13 +0000 (01:05 -0600)]
build: added quote option to conf.DEFINE()

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai Blin <kai@samba.org>

10 years agos3-waf: fixed tests for charsets
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 06:55:25 +0000 (00:55 -0600)]
s3-waf: fixed tests for charsets

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai

10 years agos4-waf: fdatasync is in librt on solaris8
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 06:17:38 +0000 (17:17 +1100)]
s4-waf: fdatasync is in librt on solaris8

10 years agos4-waf: added rap/rpc.c
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 06:17:21 +0000 (17:17 +1100)]
s4-waf: added rap/rpc.c

10 years agolibreplace: add a replacement for strerror_r (needed on solaris8)
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 05:45:23 +0000 (16:45 +1100)]
libreplace: add a replacement for strerror_r (needed on solaris8)

10 years agos4-waf: look for libiconv before checking libc
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 05:18:18 +0000 (16:18 +1100)]
s4-waf: look for libiconv before checking libc

This is needed for solaris8

10 years agos4-waf: added checks for all the different statvfs varients
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 05:09:36 +0000 (16:09 +1100)]
s4-waf: added checks for all the different statvfs varients

10 years agos4-waf: another place where broken ln -f on solaris8 matters
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 03:32:22 +0000 (14:32 +1100)]
s4-waf: another place where broken ln -f on solaris8 matters

10 years agos4-waf: cope with systems with zlib versions that are too old
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 03:29:45 +0000 (14:29 +1100)]
s4-waf: cope with systems with zlib versions that are too old

10 years agobuild: fixed copy_script typo
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 02:25:10 +0000 (13:25 +1100)]
build: fixed copy_script typo

10 years agobuild: improved exception handling for systems without rpath
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 02:20:05 +0000 (13:20 +1100)]
build: improved exception handling for systems without rpath

10 years agobuild: much better rpath test function
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 02:12:50 +0000 (13:12 +1100)]
build: much better rpath test function

This creates a full shared lib, and a binary that uses it. Then it
tests that the binary runs correctly, relying on rpath

Thanks to Thomas for the code for this!

10 years agobuild: a better way of calculating syslib dependencies
Andrew Tridgell [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 02:02:39 +0000 (13:02 +1100)]
build: a better way of calculating syslib dependencies

10 years agos3-waf: check for default charsets
Kai Blin [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 12:58:35 +0000 (06:58 -0600)]
s3-waf: check for default charsets

10 years agobuild: Import conf decorator in samba_conftests.py
Kai Blin [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 12:53:10 +0000 (06:53 -0600)]
build: Import conf decorator in samba_conftests.py

10 years agobuild: started a library of common config tests for s3/s4
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 22:56:57 +0000 (16:56 -0600)]
build: started a library of common config tests for s3/s4

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai Blin <kai@samba.org>

10 years agos3-waf: use new variable expansion feature
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 22:25:29 +0000 (16:25 -0600)]
s3-waf: use new variable expansion feature

10 years agobuild: support variable expansion in source= arguments to build rules
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 22:23:10 +0000 (16:23 -0600)]
build: support variable expansion in source= arguments to build rules

This makes it much easier to follow the s3 approach to lists of
source files in the top level wscript

Pair-Programmed-With: Kai Blin <kai@samba.org>

10 years agos3-waf: modulesdir is in the base set of options now
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 05:42:11 +0000 (23:42 -0600)]
s3-waf: modulesdir is in the base set of options now

10 years agos4-waf: update torture for new ndr/drsblobs.c tests
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 05:48:46 +0000 (16:48 +1100)]
s4-waf: update torture for new ndr/drsblobs.c tests

10 years agos4-waf: replace stdint.h and stdbool.h on systems that don't have them
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 03:32:58 +0000 (14:32 +1100)]
s4-waf: replace stdint.h and stdbool.h on systems that don't have them

10 years agobuild: solaris8 doesn't honor the -f flag to ln.
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 03:21:22 +0000 (14:21 +1100)]
build: solaris8 doesn't honor the -f flag to ln.

 It's in the man page, but it doesn't work!

10 years agobuild: honor existing LD_LIBRARY_PATH settings when adding shared lib paths
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 03:20:45 +0000 (14:20 +1100)]
build: honor existing LD_LIBRARY_PATH settings when adding shared lib paths

10 years agobuild: old versions of perl don't understand the -W option
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 03:20:03 +0000 (14:20 +1100)]
build: old versions of perl don't understand the -W option

10 years agobuild: we need to replace md5 in Task as well
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 01:35:18 +0000 (12:35 +1100)]
build: we need to replace md5 in Task as well

10 years agobuild: need to set h_file on Utils
Andrew Tridgell [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 01:26:50 +0000 (12:26 +1100)]
build: need to set h_file on Utils

10 years agobuild: replace h_file when replacing md5
Thomas Nagy [Thu, 25 Mar 2010 01:18:16 +0000 (12:18 +1100)]
build: replace h_file when replacing md5

Signed-off-by: Andrew Tridgell <tridge@samba.org>
10 years agobuild: attempt to fix md5 problem on solaris8
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 11:50:17 +0000 (22:50 +1100)]
build: attempt to fix md5 problem on solaris8

10 years agos4-waf: remove the need for some of the lib aliases
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 11:29:12 +0000 (22:29 +1100)]
s4-waf: remove the need for some of the lib aliases

10 years agobuild: a few more build rules that should have on_results=True
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 11:10:24 +0000 (22:10 +1100)]
build: a few more build rules that should have on_results=True

10 years agobuild: fixed case of system library deps
Andrew Tridgell [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 22:29:20 +0000 (09:29 +1100)]
build: fixed case of system library deps

10 years agobuild: make use on_results=True for some build rules
Stefan Metzmacher [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 09:54:31 +0000 (10:54 +0100)]
build: make use on_results=True for some build rules

This makes sure we generate a checksum over the result.
In practice it means we no longer recompile when a proto header
is triggers a rebuild if it hasn't changed its md5sum.

metze

10 years agos4-waf: disable_gnutls is gone
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 06:01:31 +0000 (17:01 +1100)]
s4-waf: disable_gnutls is gone

10 years agos4-waf: don't hardcode python path
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 05:45:08 +0000 (16:45 +1100)]
s4-waf: don't hardcode python path

10 years agobuild: cope with systems that don't have md5 in python
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 05:37:41 +0000 (16:37 +1100)]
build: cope with systems that don't have md5 in python

10 years agobuild: need to mark disabled libraries as DISABLED
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 05:25:37 +0000 (16:25 +1100)]
build: need to mark disabled libraries as DISABLED

10 years agobuild: honor both --enable-gnutls and --disable-gnutls
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 05:21:28 +0000 (16:21 +1100)]
build: honor both --enable-gnutls and --disable-gnutls

This shows how we can do the dual-boolean rules we use so much with
autoconf

10 years agobuild: fixed the cflags for pkg_config libs
Andrew Tridgell [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 20:44:48 +0000 (07:44 +1100)]
build: fixed the cflags for pkg_config libs

10 years agobuild: split out the base waf rules into buildtools/wafsamba/wscript
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 01:56:30 +0000 (12:56 +1100)]
build: split out the base waf rules into buildtools/wafsamba/wscript

this stops lib/replace becoming a mess

10 years agobuild: use gzip for waf packing, to try to make it work on irix
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 01:09:30 +0000 (12:09 +1100)]
build: use gzip for waf packing, to try to make it work on irix

10 years agos3-waf: the start of the main build for s3
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 00:28:03 +0000 (18:28 -0600)]
s3-waf: the start of the main build for s3

10 years agos3-waf: more configure tests and minor fixes
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 00:27:31 +0000 (18:27 -0600)]
s3-waf: more configure tests and minor fixes

10 years agos3-waf: added build subdir for dynconfig generation
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 00:26:49 +0000 (18:26 -0600)]
s3-waf: added build subdir for dynconfig generation

10 years agobuild: use shell=True for SAMBA_GENERATOR
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 00:25:50 +0000 (18:25 -0600)]
build: use shell=True for SAMBA_GENERATOR

This allows for shell redirection in rules

10 years agobuild: added msg argument to CHECK_TYPE()
Andrew Tridgell [Wed, 24 Mar 2010 00:23:41 +0000 (18:23 -0600)]
build: added msg argument to CHECK_TYPE()

10 years agobuild: Change checks to conform to new CHECK_* behaviour
Kai Blin [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 20:58:44 +0000 (21:58 +0100)]
build: Change checks to conform to new CHECK_* behaviour

10 years agobuild: Check if the compiler will optimize out functions
Kai Blin [Mon, 22 Mar 2010 21:58:43 +0000 (22:58 +0100)]
build: Check if the compiler will optimize out functions

10 years agobuild: check for int types included from rpc/rpc.h
Kai Blin [Mon, 22 Mar 2010 07:59:02 +0000 (08:59 +0100)]
build: check for int types included from rpc/rpc.h

10 years agobuild: Check for POSIX capabilities
Kai Blin [Mon, 22 Mar 2010 07:48:09 +0000 (08:48 +0100)]
build: Check for POSIX capabilities

10 years agobuild: Check for various members of struct stat
Kai Blin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 22:43:28 +0000 (23:43 +0100)]
build: Check for various members of struct stat

10 years agobuild: Fix package name and package string case
Kai Blin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 22:02:14 +0000 (23:02 +0100)]
build: Fix package name and package string case

10 years agobuild: Check for functions needed by Samba3
Kai Blin [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 08:02:59 +0000 (09:02 +0100)]
build: Check for functions needed by Samba3

10 years agobuild: Check for kernel share modes
Kai Blin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 21:49:25 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
build: Check for kernel share modes

10 years agobuild: Check for IRIX kernel oplock types
Kai Blin [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 12:01:00 +0000 (13:01 +0100)]
build: Check for IRIX kernel oplock types