WHATSNEW: Added information about the new idmap system
authorKai Blin <kai@samba.org>
Fri, 28 Mar 2008 22:36:05 +0000 (23:36 +0100)
committerKai Blin <kai@samba.org>
Wed, 2 Apr 2008 21:08:07 +0000 (23:08 +0200)
(This used to be commit 8c27941171999d2d42834b92a2693aca0435d345)

WHATSNEW.txt

index 1e8f803..f58df49 100644 (file)
@@ -97,6 +97,11 @@ continued to evolve, but you may particularly notice these areas:
   better integration with Windows administrative tools, especially
   Active Directory Users and Computers.
 
+  ID mapping: Samba4 now handles ID mapping via winbind. The mappings
+  are stored in a central ldb that could be shared across multiple
+  machines using LDAP. Internal callers access this interface via a new
+  wbclient library.
+
 These are just some of the highlights of the work done in the past few
 months.  More details can be found in our GIT history.