WHATSNEW: mention initial support for SMB3
authorMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 10:49:30 +0000 (12:49 +0200)
committerMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Mon, 2 Jul 2012 13:15:53 +0000 (15:15 +0200)
Autobuild-User(master): Michael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Mon Jul  2 15:15:53 CEST 2012 on sn-devel-104

WHATSNEW.txt

index 710f6bd..e1405cc 100644 (file)
@@ -114,6 +114,11 @@ be an alias for SMB 2.1. Previously, the default SMB2 version of
 Samba was the original version 2.0 of SMB that was shipped with
 Windows Vista and 2008.
 
+Samba now offers basic experimental support for SMB3, the next version
+of the SMB protocol (formerly known as SMB 2.2) that will be available
+with Windows 8 and Windows Server 2012. Negotiation of SMB3 can be
+activated by setting "max protocol" to "SMB3" in smb.conf.
+
 
 KNOWN ISSUES
 ============