Changed more references of 'nimbus.anu.edu.au/pub/tridge/samba' to
[kai/samba.git] / docs / manpages / samba.7
1 .TH SAMBA 7 29/3/95 Samba Samba
2 .SH NAME
3 Samba \- a LanManager like fileserver for Unix
4 .SH SYNOPSIS
5 .B Samba
6 .SH DESCRIPTION
7 The
8 .B Samba
9 software suite is a collection of programs that implements the SMB
10 protocol for unix systems. This protocol is sometimes also referred to
11 as the LanManager or Netbios protocol.
12
13 .SH COMPONENTS
14
15 The Samba suite is made up of several components. Each component is
16 described in a separate manual page. It is strongly recommended that
17 you read the documentation that comes with Samba and the manual pages
18 of those components that you use. If the manual pages aren't clear
19 enough then please send me a patch!
20
21 The smbd(8) daemon provides the file and print services to SMB clents,
22 such as Windows for Workgroups, Windows NT or LanManager. The
23 configuration file for this daemon is described in smb.conf(5).
24
25 The nmbd(8) daemon provides Netbios nameserving and browsing
26 support. It can also be run interactively to query other name service
27 daemons.
28
29 The smbclient(1) program implements a simple ftp-like client. This is
30 useful for accessing SMB shares on other compatible servers (such as
31 WfWg), and can also be used to allow a unix box to print to a printer
32 attached to any SMB server (such as a PC running WfWg).
33
34 The testparm(1) utility allows you to test your smb.conf(5)
35 configuration file.
36
37 The smbstatus(1) utility allows you to tell who is currently using the
38 smbd(8) server.
39
40 .SH AVAILABILITY
41
42 The Samba software suite is licensed under the Gnu Public License. A
43 copy of that license should have come with the package. You are
44 encouraged to distribute copies of the Samba suite, but please keep it
45 intact.
46
47 The latest version of the Samba suite can be obtained via anonymous
48 ftp from samba.anu.edu.au in the directory pub/samba/. It is
49 also available on several mirror sites worldwide.
50
51 You may also find useful information about Samba on the newsgroup
52 comp.protocols.smb and the Samba mailing list. Details on how to join
53 the mailing list are given in the README file that comes with Samba.
54
55 If you have access to a WWW viewer (such as Netscape or Mosaic) then
56 you will also find lots of useful information, including back issues
57 of the Samba mailing list, at http://samba.canberra.edu.au/pub/samba/
58
59 .SH AUTHOR
60
61 The main author of the Samba suite is Andrew Tridgell. He may be
62 contacted via e-mail at samba-bugs@anu.edu.au.
63
64 There have also been an enourmous number of contributors to Samba from
65 all over the world. A partial list of these contributors is included
66 in the CREDITS section below. The list is, however, badly out of
67 date. More up to date info may be obtained from the change-log that
68 comes with the Samba source code.
69
70 .SH CONTRIBUTIONS
71
72 If you wish to contribute to the Samba project, then I suggest you
73 join the Samba mailing list.
74
75 If you have patches to submit or bugs to report then you may mail them
76 directly to samba-bugs@anu.edu.au. Note, however, that due to the
77 enourmous popularity of this package I may take some time to repond to
78 mail. I prefer patches in "diff -u" format.
79
80 .SH CREDITS
81
82 Contributors to the project are (in alphabetical order by email address):
83
84 (NOTE: This list is very out of date)
85
86  Adams, Graham
87         (gadams@ddrive.demon.co.uk)
88  Allison, Jeremy
89         (jeremy@netcom.com)
90  Andrus, Ross
91         (ross@augie.insci.com)
92  Auer, Karl
93         (Karl.Auer@anu.edu.au)
94  Bogstad, Bill
95         (bogstad@cs.jhu.edu)
96  Boreham, Bryan
97         (Bryan@alex.com)
98  Boreham, David
99         (davidb@ndl.co.uk)
100  Butler, Michael
101         (imb@asstdc.scgt.oz.au)
102  ???
103         (charlie@edina.demon.co.uk)
104  Chua, Michael
105         (lpc@solomon.technet.sg)
106  Cochran, Marc
107         (mcochran@wellfleet.com)
108  Dey, Martin N
109         (mnd@netmgrs.co.uk)
110  Errath, Maximilian
111         (errath@balu.kfunigraz.ac.at)
112  Fisher, Lee
113         (leefi@microsoft.com)
114  Foderaro, Sean
115         (jkf@frisky.Franz.COM)
116  Greer, Brad
117         (brad@cac.washington.edu)
118  Griffith, Michael A
119         (grif@cs.ucr.edu)
120  Grosen, Mark
121         (MDGrosen@spectron.COM)
122  ????
123         (gunjkoa@dep.sa.gov.au)
124  Haapanen, Tom
125         (tomh@metrics.com)
126  Hench, Mike
127         (hench@cae.uwm.edu)
128  Horstman, Mark A
129         (mh2620@sarek.sbc.com)
130  Hudson, Tim
131         (tim.hudson@gslmail.mincom.oz.au)
132  Hulthen, Erik Magnus
133         (magnus@axiom.se)
134  ???
135         (imb@asstdc.scgt.oz.au)
136  Iversen, Per Steinar
137         (iversen@dsfys1.fi.uib.no)
138  Kaara, Pasi
139         (ppk@atk.tpo.fi)
140  Karman, Merik
141         (merik@blackadder.dsh.oz.au)
142  Kiff, Martin
143         (mgk@newton.npl.co.uk)
144  Kiick, Chris
145         (cjkiick@flinx.b11.ingr.com)
146  Kukulies, Christoph
147         (kuku@acds.physik.rwth-aachen.de)
148  ???
149         (lance@fox.com)
150  Lendecke, Volker
151         (lendecke@namu01.gwdg.de)
152  ???
153         (lonnie@itg.ti.com)
154  Mahoney, Paul Thomas
155         (ptm@xact1.xact.com)
156  Mauelshagen, Heinz
157         (mauelsha@ez.da.telekom.de)
158  Merrick, Barry G
159         (bgm@atml.co.uk)
160  Mol, Marcel
161         (marcel@fanout.et.tudeflt.nl)
162  ???
163         (njw@cpsg.com.au)
164  ???
165         (noses@oink.rhein.de)
166  Owens, John
167         (john@micros.com)
168  Pierson, Jacques
169         (pierson@ketje.enet.dec.com)
170  Powell, Mark
171         (mark@scot1.ucsalf.ac.uk)
172  Reiz, Steven
173         (sreiz@aie.nl)
174  Schlaeger, Joerg
175         (joergs@toppoint.de)
176  S{rkel{, Vesa
177         (vesku@rankki.kcl.fi)
178  Tridgell, Andrew
179         (samba-bugs@anu.edu.au)
180  Troyer, Dean
181         (troyer@saifr00.ateng.az.honeywell.com)
182  Wakelin, Ross
183         (rossw@march.co.uk)
184  Wessels, Stefan
185         (SWESSELS@dos-lan.cs.up.ac.za)
186  Young, Ian A
187         (iay@threel.co.uk)
188  van der Zwan, Paul
189         (paulzn@olivetti.nl)
190