Add mdns name configuration option
authorKevin Anderson <andersonkw2@gmail.com>
Sun, 26 Nov 2017 04:03:59 +0000 (23:03 -0500)
committerJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Fri, 8 Dec 2017 21:58:17 +0000 (22:58 +0100)
commit18307f87114b90258fb51222bfde4408e80dc596
tree623af47b139095527c348917a6e54a2be13a802e
parentb8d0602e598a814b8e707b50aa895d18aa3d8d6c
Add mdns name configuration option

Add the mdns name configuration variable to control the mdns hostname.
The default is to use the NETBIOS name of the system to match previous
versions which is typically the hostname in all capitals. A value of mdns
can be provided to defer the hostname to the mdns library.

With the recent patch to support time machine being merged this patch
allows for a user to configure the server name that is advertised to
be lower cased through Avahi advertisements.

Signed-off-by: Kevin Anderson <andersonkw2@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Ralph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
WHATSNEW.txt
docs-xml/smbdotconf/base/mdnsname.xml [new file with mode: 0644]
lib/param/loadparm.c
lib/param/loadparm.h
lib/param/param_table.c
source3/smbd/avahi_register.c